We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant view and service”
Review of Broad Meadow House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broad Meadow House
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant view and service”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This place is special. Exclusive and stylish. Great care and attention has been given to all aspects of your stay.Views are as good as they get in a UK coastal location. The owners are very helpful and get the balance between customer service and your privacy exactly right. Close to Eden project (you can easily cycle from here) this place campsite is well worth the money. If you want massed ranks of static caravans and camping neighbors that disturb you then go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pitch at the top of the field for views and shelter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEPSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

What an amazing campsite... The best we have ever been too! We spent 3 nights here straight after our wedding and pitched our bell tent in the Orchard field, this had been set aside for us by Debs to give us a little privacy. Ill start with Debs the owner.... lovely, friendly, chatty and chilled out, would do anything for you xx The views across the bay are amazing and as this is a campsite that only allows a few tents you have loads of space and don't feel squished in like you do on some sites. My husband had called ahead of our arrival and asked if some flowers and champagne could be arranged ... So I was met with a beautiful bouquet and a bottle of Moët in a ice bucket and 2 champagne flutes! The breakfasts were gorgeous, what a treat having coffee, croissants, cooked breakfast baps, orange juice, fruit etc delivered to your tent at a time that suits you! The facilities are immaculate, funky and nothing is to much trouble... Debs even insisted on doing a load of our washing that we desperately needed as she didn't want us visiting the launderette on our honeymoon :-) we have visited a fair few campsites but this is by far the best ever:-) we will be back Thank You so much for a memorable few days xx

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Msoutho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in the special glamping tent for up to four people. This is a pre-made tent with beds, linen, towels, gas stove, water, camping lights, all mod cons and a breakfast hamper delivered to your tent door. So clean and beautiful. The views are really to die for and Debs goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. She told us the best way to walk to the Eden project and things to do in the area. Charlestown is a great place too for families and couples and groups of friends. The only thing to be aware of is the fact you have to time your shower and toilet trips well, so you can avoid the queues. However, they are very clean and in a good state. A real gem of a place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordTravelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

From the moment we drove along the cobbled lane at the end of the harbour I had a good feeling about this site, after picking up instructions at the front door we drove across to our pitch, more like a lawn than a field and gently slopping with fine view across Charleston Harbour and out to sea.
As we pitched our tent Debs greeted us and returned with a cafetiere and biscuits, a wander through the village gave us a good choice of pubs and restaurants and just a 10 minute walk up the hill to Tesco for essentials and treats - there is no shop in the village except a wonderful ice cream and fudge hut.
On site facilities were immaculate there were only 4/5 tents at any one time and our breakfast basket was delivered to the tent - total cheating but a wonderful and luxurious treat
We walked miles from the pitch in every direction and discovered some tiny deserted beaches - the hills and steps are worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAT-SJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Wow,don't tell your friends!Just had a lovely break in this very beautiful setting,overlooking sea,with Charlestown Harbour a few minutes walk away.Deb and Neil,the owners couldn't be more lovely!Helpful,informative but not intrusive.Perfect in everyway!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvvybaalambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is an ideal campsite for couples looking for a beautiful location and want a gentle camping experience. As we opted for breakfast each morning and ate out every night we didnt have to bring any food related equipment. The breakfasts are well worth it - they are brought to your tent and are delicious giving you a choice of either hot, museli or croissants. The campsite is basically a hill but people are either situated at the top or bottom where it is more or less flat, which we encountered no problems with. The views are amazing. As the campsite is small and there is 1 loo, shower and utility sink I think big families looking to stay for a week or more would perhaps want more in the way of facilities, however, for us it was perfect. I didn't have to wait to use anything and everything was very clean and nicely presented. There is a very homely and personal feel to the place which I really liked and Deborah, the owner, was very helpful with advice on where to go etc. Definately recommend this place and will come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank girlwidgreeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

What a lovely way to spend the weekend. Deb and Neil were so welcoming and being brought breakfast to our tent in the morning was such a treat. Although the amenities are slightly in the basis side, they are clean and well presented. Even though there was only 1 loo and 1 shpower we didn't have to queue at all. The views are amazing over the harbour and the shops only a short drive away.

Would certainly go again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
5.1 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
661 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broad Meadow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broad Meadow House

Property: Broad Meadow House
Address: Broad Meadow House Quay Road, St Austell PL25 3NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive camping in a magical one acre Seaside Meadow on the South Cornish Coast. Bring all your own gear & retreat into the essence of Broad Meadow House - an authentic camping experience with home comforts & impeccable levels of personal service always on-tap if required. Enjoy being just one of 12 full paying guests across 4/5 DIY pitches. Or, simply roll up, check in & chill out in a beautifully furnished & equipped pre-pitched Posh Tent (think B&B in a luxury, multi-dome 'Karsten' tent ~ Breakfast Baskets served at your tent door ~ exclusive use of private shower-loo room ~ sleeps up to 4 in separate bedrooms). Drop an email requesting an eBrochure for full details & prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broad Meadow House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing