We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly, great value, excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stowford Guest House
Ranked #55 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Stowford Guest House and are already missing it. We struggled to find a good value B&B in the area that would accept children (we have a one year old toddler), however, not only were Claire and Brian happy for a child to stay, they welcomed him with open arms. The rooms were a good size, (even with a travel cot), spotlessly clean and we were provided with tea and coffee making facilities including fresh milk. They also provided a high chair for our little boy and offered use of a travel cot (although we had our own) Although not en-suite, they only take one booking at once so there is private use of the bathroom. We also had use of a sitting area, conservatory and a beautiful garden area.

Claire's cooked breakfast was excellent and filled us up nicely for the day ahead. We were made to feel so welcome and looked after during our stay. We would fully recommend this guesthouse for families and those with young children. If we are heading back to the St Austell at any point we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bex147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. Your little boy was lovely and it was a pleasure to have you all stay at our guest house. As you said, we welcome families and with the knowledge that we only take one booking at a time, we think it makes it more relaxing for mum and dad, particularly if they have young children. Also, as the two guest bedrooms are adjacent to each other, mum and dad can choose to have their own privacy if they so wish. We hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having just spent 12 nights in the Stowford Guest House with my husband I cannot praise it highly enough. We chose it because of it's great location and the reviews on this site! It really did live up to the reviews. On arrival we received a very warm welcome. Our bedroom was very clean and spacious, with everything you could possibly need. We had our own private bathroom facilities, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk, free wifi and lovely views over the Cornish countryside. We also had the use of a sitting room, conservatory and the garden. The breakfasts are excellent with cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants and of course the full English which really sets you up for the day. Home made preserves are also available and delicious.Claire and Brian are excellent hosts, so warm and friendly; they can't do enough for you. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Stowford and hope we will be able to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan15W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Fantastic review, thank you so much. We really enjoyed having you as guests and would love to see you again, however we can't promise a repeat of the amazing weather you had during your 12 day stay - unbelievable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Claire and Brian Waters are the ideal hosts. They greeted us at the door with big smiles. Showing us our rooms was next on the agenda. They have only two guest rooms and let them to only one party at a time. In addition to my husband and me our party included our daughter and her boyfriend. We took over the entire second floor which included a sitting room, loo, and bathroom plus the two bedrooms. The Waters had obviously taken great care and optimized the house for their guests. The garden was filled with blooms which we enjoyed while sitting outside. The traditional English breakfast was well done and plentiful. All four in our party agreed that we would return to this guest house should we have the opportunity.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and you cannot go wrong with either one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nagogwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We loved meeting you all and it's good to know that we helped to make your stay in our beautiful county an enjoyable one with many happy memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have stayed with Claire and Brian many times and it is always a great pleasure. The room has been upgraded and is so comfortable - just like home. The breakfast is lovely, Claire makes the best scrambled eggs! The "full English" will keep you going all day long. There is always a good choice of cereals, fruit and yogurt to start and plenty of toast and home made preserves to follow (the strawberry jam made from Brian's own strawberries).
Tea and coffee making facilities available and there is always fresh milk.
Claire has set up a table with lots of leaflets and guides about what's on in Cornwall (a mini tourist information service!)
The location is good - is within walking distance of the town.

The view from the bedroom window is great.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outlawann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

From the moment I met Caire and Brian I was made to feel very welcome, I stayed here for 2 nights as it was a central location to tour Cornwall and as an added bonus saw some amazing places I would not have seen if it wasn't for their "local" knowledge of the area.
The room and ALL the facilities including breakfast were of a very high standard and would highly recommend Stowford if you want to stay in a "home" away from home.
I will definitely stay again if I am fortunate enough to visit this part of the world again.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank for the lovely review it was really nice meeting you and we would love to see you again if you ever visit revisit our beautiful county.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights in October at Stowford Guest House. Claire and Brian proved to be excellent hosts for our 4 nights stay,they are very welcoming and our room was perfect with all needs catered for including wifi. Claire's full English breakfast every morning were excellent plus fresh fruit, homemade jam and cereals. Thank you for our (with our dog Rio) wonderful stay and making us comfortable in your lovely home. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizY_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently stayed at this lovely guest house.Its location was ideal for the outings we had planned (Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Fowey, Charlestown and Mevagissy). Claire and her husband made us (and our dog) feel very welcome, our rooms were spacious and had everything we needed. The breakfast was great, we especially liked the home-made jams and marmalades and the excellent coffee. We enjoyed our stay very much and felt that Stowford offers great value for money.We would highly recommend it. A real home from home!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettina337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.3 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
2.2 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowford Guest House

Address: 16 Sawles Road, St Austell PL25 4UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $76 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impressive 1930s detached property close to all amenities including the St Austell rail and bus station which are within a 10 minute walk. Claire and Brian give you a 'home from home' Cornish welcome and provide a wonderful breakfast from full English to freshly made fruit salad with yoghurt, toast and home-made jams. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stowford Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing