We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcomes and Soft Beds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stowford Guest House
Ranked #55 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Claire and Brian Waters are the ideal hosts. They greeted us at the door with big smiles. Showing us our rooms was next on the agenda. They have only two guest rooms and let them to only one party at a time. In addition to my husband and me our party included our daughter and her boyfriend. We took over the entire second floor which included a sitting room, loo, and bathroom plus the two bedrooms. The Waters had obviously taken great care and optimized the house for their guests. The garden was filled with blooms which we enjoyed while sitting outside. The traditional English breakfast was well done and plentiful. All four in our party agreed that we would return to this guest house should we have the opportunity.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and you cannot go wrong with either one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nagogwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We loved meeting you all and it's good to know that we helped to make your stay in our beautiful county an enjoyable one with many happy memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have stayed with Claire and Brian many times and it is always a great pleasure. The room has been upgraded and is so comfortable - just like home. The breakfast is lovely, Claire makes the best scrambled eggs! The "full English" will keep you going all day long. There is always a good choice of cereals, fruit and yogurt to start and plenty of toast and home made preserves to follow (the strawberry jam made from Brian's own strawberries).
Tea and coffee making facilities available and there is always fresh milk.
Claire has set up a table with lots of leaflets and guides about what's on in Cornwall (a mini tourist information service!)
The location is good - is within walking distance of the town.

The view from the bedroom window is great.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outlawann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

From the moment I met Caire and Brian I was made to feel very welcome, I stayed here for 2 nights as it was a central location to tour Cornwall and as an added bonus saw some amazing places I would not have seen if it wasn't for their "local" knowledge of the area.
The room and ALL the facilities including breakfast were of a very high standard and would highly recommend Stowford if you want to stay in a "home" away from home.
I will definitely stay again if I am fortunate enough to visit this part of the world again.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank for the lovely review it was really nice meeting you and we would love to see you again if you ever visit revisit our beautiful county.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights in October at Stowford Guest House. Claire and Brian proved to be excellent hosts for our 4 nights stay,they are very welcoming and our room was perfect with all needs catered for including wifi. Claire's full English breakfast every morning were excellent plus fresh fruit, homemade jam and cereals. Thank you for our (with our dog Rio) wonderful stay and making us comfortable in your lovely home. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizY_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently stayed at this lovely guest house.Its location was ideal for the outings we had planned (Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Fowey, Charlestown and Mevagissy). Claire and her husband made us (and our dog) feel very welcome, our rooms were spacious and had everything we needed. The breakfast was great, we especially liked the home-made jams and marmalades and the excellent coffee. We enjoyed our stay very much and felt that Stowford offers great value for money.We would highly recommend it. A real home from home!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettina337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My friend and I spent two nights at this welcoming guest house. We loved our room, it was extremely spacious and had fantastic views over the fields - and of the ponies. Claire is a very warm, likeable person who cooks an awesome breakfast - and there's plenty of it, including delicious home-made marmalades and jams.

We were very happy with our stay, it represented excellent value for money and we would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trax1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Three of us stayed here for two nights and were made to feel 'at home' immediately. Claire and her husband were very friendly and welcoming. We felt as if we had known them for ages. The bedrooms are clean and spacious, offering fabulous views of rolling hills and the golf course. Breakfast was excellent. The B&B is conveniently located, only a 12 minute walk to the station from where we caught the bus for the 15 minute journey to the Eden Project. Thank you for a really lovely stay in your home; it made our weekend memorable. We will definetly return. In the meantime we will do some recommendations! Max, Usha & Uma.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Threefriends_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.3 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
2.2 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowford Guest House

Address: 16 Sawles Road, St Austell PL25 4UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $76 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impressive 1930s detached property close to all amenities including the St Austell rail and bus station which are within a 10 minute walk. Claire and Brian give you a 'home from home' Cornish welcome and provide a wonderful breakfast from full English to freshly made fruit salad with yoghurt, toast and home-made jams. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stowford Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing