We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 night stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stowford Guest House
Ranked #53 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Chippenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 night stay”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was a very friendly B&B, all you could wish for. The bed was more comfortable than our own. The position is very central to all the venues we wanted to visit.
I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: No need to choose, as they only take one party at a time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope to see you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sabadell
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a great time.

Besides, there are a lot of creams and hygiene products for personal use in the bathroom.

Hand-made and delicious breakfasts with views to the countryside.

Nice temperature.

Just 8 miles away from Fowey, a small bay which visiting is a must.

:)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments - it's great to have such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

If you are visiting Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan and villages around the area, this is a handy location. Claire is lovely, helpful and makes fantastic breakfasts!!! Full English breakfast plus fresh fruit, homemade jam and marmalade and cereals too. No need for lunch after this. The house is very clean, bathroom newly renovated, TV in the room and good wi-fi service. This was the first time we have ever been in a B&B and we were surprised that people do not do this more often. We will!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1999rosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We have run our guest house for many years and pride ourselves on making our guests feel 'at home'. We only take one booking at a time therefore we can ensure our guests are comfortable and happy and receive a 4* service. We hope you visit Stowford again and tell your friends about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2012

What a lovely place to stay with two very good hosts, Claire and Brian. The facilities were great and the breakfasts were scrumy and kept us going all day! Claie and Brian made us feel so comfortable and our room was lovely with beautiful views. The guest house is very accessible to the local facilities and only a short drive to the Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan - great places to visit, Overall a fantastic place to stay and well recomended - we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Both great but the main bedroom is a little quieter being at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieCallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We've just spent 3 nights at Stowford Guest House and really enjoyed our stay. We had our pick from two lovely rooms as Claire only accommodates one group at a time which means you have your own private bath room across the landing (robes were provided). The view is fantastic.

The house is lovely and well decorated - you really get the feeling you are staying in somebody's guest room. Miles away from staying in a cheap hotel!!!

Breakfast was some of the best I've had for quite some time.

If you are looking for a great value B&B with private bathroom and two rooms for up to 5 people - this is the place to book.

Make sure you visit Heligan Gardens and the Eden Project while you're in St Austell. Both are easily reached by car or public transport and the B&B is in walking distance to the train and bus station.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cichoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCornwall, Owner at Stowford Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review, we do our best to ensure our guests feel at home and are well looked after and it's great when feedback confirms that our efforts are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Very welcoming throughout the whole weekend that we stayed, very helpful, very attentive, very organised and even dropped us of at the train station.
We stayed in the family room which had a double and a single bed which were both very comfortable also a tv and wi-fi. The view from the bedroom topped it off nicely. Facilities were very clean with a great shower. BREAKFAST WAS FANTASTIC!
Perfect full english, cereal was also avaliable along with toast and homemade jam, orange juice and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble. The only negative and it is a small one which is the stairs are creaky but this didnt spoil an excellent stay. Overall a great family experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was a really lovely place to stay in St Austell, and Claire went above and beyond the call of duty in making our stay an enjoyable one. Stowford is a beautiful house near the centre of town (but still seconds away from the rolling hills and country lanes), with smartly furnished rooms that have a grand views over the countryside, such a relaxing place!

Claire was so great, and helped us find another night's accommodation in town when we got stuck, calling around the other B&Bs in the area. She also lent us a lift into Penzance when we were both heading that direction, and even insisted that she drop us at the station to catch our bus onwards!

All this from the cheapest B&B we've stayed in yet :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoddski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
488 reviews
4.3 mi away
Eden's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Eden's Rest Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 96 in St Austell
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 96 in St Austell
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 96 in St Austell
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elms Guest House
The Elms Guest House
#14 of 96 in St Austell
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowford Guest House

Property: Stowford Guest House
Address: 16 Sawles Road, St Austell PL25 4UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Stowford Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing