We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of shipwreck history”

Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre
Ranked #5 of 39 things to do in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in an historic china clay building, this centre contains artifacts from more than 150 local shipwrecks.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A taste of shipwreck history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Set in the depths of clay mining tunnels, this is a very quirky museum telling of disasters old and more recent with hundreds of artifacts. There is almost too much to take in, from pictures, to diver's equipment to a lifeboat you can climber aboard.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    333
    107
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Museum Packed with Artefacts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

After parking on the long street up the road from the museum we walked down to the museum which was easy to find. Our entry was discounted by some vouchers in a tourist magazine and one of our children was free as he is under 10 which was great to see that they encourage people to come along so much. Even at full price I thought the entry fee was very affordable compared to other places. The children were given a booklet of questions to fill out as they went around which they really liked and kept them fully engaged and they had to spot some pirates too which was harder than you might think. The museum was packed with interesting exhibits and artefacts which were quite interactive and I think the new owners have kept the spirit of the museum intact. There was something for people of all ages and some very familiar faces amongst the exhibits which helped in filling out the booklet. The children were given a small prize for their efforts which was nice but I did think it was a shame that when my son said he wasn't keen on one of the things in the box the staff member pulled the whole box away and didn't give him a chance to choose an alternative, after all it did take the entire visit and a great deal of effort for a small child to fill it all out! That aside the rest of the staff were terrific and we very much enjoyed our trip to the museum and cant wait to visit again and tell everyone how great it is!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank yumbletums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pirates Ahoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great to see a tall ship in the harbour, can just picture Pirates running amok in this quant place. Can imagine Jack Sparrow swinging of the boat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 12vivvy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“History, treasure, science and legend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Much more fascinating than the name suggests, with plenty of fascinating exhibits for the grown ups and lots of fun for children too. Next to a working port with tall ships in harbour all the time. The whole village is living history, used lots for film and TV sets.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Co. Down
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

A really pretty harbour with pirate ship. Great from the kids. Lovely wee shops to browse and delicious ice cream and fudge!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing