We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place”
Review of The Old Cooperage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Cooperage
Ranked #56 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at the Old Cooperage for 4 nights. The room and ensuite were excellent. Pam and Malcolm were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Any specialrequests regarding breakfast were received without any problems. We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having stayed at The old Cooperage for 5 nights we thought we should post this review as our stay was nothing short of wonderful,the warm welcome from the owners was wonderful and they were consistantly helpful,the Room we had was great good facilities and everything was
very clean and even had a fantastic bathroom ensuite.
The breakfast was exellent and the use of local produce was great.
The location of the B&B was just perfect too we had a Fantastic stay and a big thankyou to Malcolm and Pam you made our Holiday memorable.

Room Tip: |Just ask and they will tall you the room that will best suite your holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187069Dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Old Cooperage Bed & Breakfast is absolutely fantastic, I would highly recommend this extremely charming guest house. Positioned within walking distance of the beautiful harbour village of Charlestown. The owners were particularly helpful in recommending places of interest to visit & local restaurants etc. The bedroom and ensuite bathroom was wonderfully clean & comfortable & my husband felt that the full English breakfast was really delicious!! We felt very welcome & very well looked after.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachael798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Cooperage provided a warm welcome and instantly made us feel at home. The room was very pleasant with excellent facilities. A flatscreen TV was provided, the only disappointment being the DVD player, which didn't work. The wide range of channels available made up for this though.
The bathroom was top-notch, although the water pressure was affected when other showers were in use. This didn't interrupt bathing too much though, despite the number of people staying there at the time.
The breakfast was delicious and a wide range of choices were offered to us.
The bed and breakfast itself is within walking distance from the town centre (around 25 minutes) and a bus to the Eden project is a 5 minute walk away - perfect for a holiday without driving!
The hosts were approachable and friendly and were happy to provide suggestions on where to eat or visit. I highly recommend The Cooperage to all seeking a short trip to St Austell.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanderel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooperage143, Owner at The Old Cooperage, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We are so pleased that this reviewer enjoyed stayng with us and would just mention that the water pressure issue has now been identified and resolved. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This is a perfectly location establishment in a very pretty port, with plenty of pubs and restaurants in walking distance.

The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was distinctly average, shame because it lets down an otherwise perfectly good B&B, especially with the tariff the location commands.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_curious_limper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooperage143, Owner at The Old Cooperage, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

I was surprised and concerned with the reference to "distinctly average breakfast" by this reviewer. Our breakfast consists of a buffet comprising a choice of different breakfast cereals, prunes, grapefruit segments, yoghorts and orange juice followed by a cooked breakfast. Our cooked breakfast, as with the buffet, is of top quality ingredients, locally sourced where possible and comprises two rashers of grilled back bacon and a sausage, one or two eggs fried or poached as required, fresh mushrooms sauteed in butter and grilled fresh tomatoes. Alternatives, such as vegetarian food, can also be provided. The breakfast is served with both white and granary toast with butter and conserves.
I have over twenty years experience of preparing such breakfasts and have never had a complaint. This seems to be bourne out by other reviews. I feel that this review is unfair and if it is a genuine complaint I would be grateful if the reviewer would contact us so that we can dicuss the matter. I feel that the use of the words, distinctly and average are vague and quite damning. I invariably ask guests if their food is satisfactory and invariably receive a positive response. We always endeavor to give our guests value for money and to make their stay as pleasant as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rashleigh Arms
Rashleigh Arms
#15 of 97 in St Austell
311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage House
Anchorage House
#6 of 97 in St Austell
252 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Cooperage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Cooperage

Address: 143 Charlestown Road, St Austell PL25 3NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Cooperage St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing