We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - Friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gables Guest House
Ranked #36 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the begining of October. A lovely guest house, extremely clean with great hosts, Barbara and Michael who welcomed us into their home. They were very attentive hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Our beautifully decorated, ensuite room was not only spotlessly clean for our arrival but when we returned back on the second day everything had been cleaned again. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and what a great breakfast it was. Cereals, fruit and toast followed by a full english consisting of fresh local produce. Worth every penny. Situated just a 10 minute walk from the town and a few minutes from the A390, it was conveniently situated and if we plan another visit to Cornwall, we hope the Gables will have room for us!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara T, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Mike and I are so pleased to had a lovely time here at 'The Gables' such a lovely review, thank you so much and look forward to your return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 73 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a lovely two night stay at the gables and enjoyed our stay very much.
The only negative for us was that until we arrived we were not aware that a cooked breakfast was extra..........only £3.50p each and perfectly cooked but it would have been less embarrassing if we had been told this when booking.

Room Tip: There is a larger room that is used for the bridal suite.......our room was very small but lacked no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psmavp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara T, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

You had brought one of these 2x night national deals, which was, ' 2x night stay for 2x people with breakfast'. The breakfast in the deal was, cereals, selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and tea/coffee. National deal companies take an enormous amount of commission plus V.A.T. out of the money and that is why, if guests with this deal wanted a cooked breakfast as well as the above, then it is pointed out on arrival, when the cooked breakfast forms are shown.

When we next do a national deal, we will point out a surcharge for cooked breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Reading other reviews We wholeheartedly agree with the positive ones and more. This is not a job to this wonderful couple. They do it for pleasure. Their aim is to ensure your are happy and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble. They are proud of their lovely home and so they should be. We did wonder why it isn`t five star rated.

Room Tip: Whoops clicked on swimming pool in error.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara T, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

I know its better late than never, wasn't quite sure how to it, I have the hang of it now...I would just like to say a big thank you for your lovely review it made Mike and I feel we have made this lovely couple comfortable and happy and that is what it is all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you want a proper family-run guest house, where you get lovely, caring and friendly hospitality, and where you feel relaxed enough to go and turn a lamp on and sit in the conservatory area on your laptop at midnight on the free wifi, then you have found it!

Breakfast was excellent - great selection of continental; fresh toast brought to you; and a nice cooked breakfast prepared personally for you.

Our room was a twin as requested, and whilst it couldn't be described as spacious, it was more than sufficient and well organised, and the private bathroom was directly opposite the bedroom door; and again, it was not big, but compact and totally as required.

Both the bedroom and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. The gardens were lovely also.

Parking was free, and whilst it is on a relatively busy road, I don't recall being disturbed by the traffic noise at all. If you are wanting to stay in St Austell, then this is a good base and very close to where you'd be wanting to go.

I am sure one could find a more spacious room for a similar price elsewhere nearby if you tried, but you'd be most hard-pushed to find service and hospitality quite so charming and friendly. Thank you to Barbara and Michael for their efforts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exponential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Arrived at the Gables, St Austell and went to check in. Was given a warm welcome from Barbara and Michael, the owners of the guest house. We was shown our room and the adjacent bathroom solely for our use. Both my husband and myself found our room very comfortable, wish we could have a bed like it. Everything we possibly could need it was there, hair dryer, tea making facilities, tv and even bathrobes. We had our room tidied, cleaned each day and a fresh bottle of water in our room. The room and bathroom were both very beautifully decorated. The heating regularly came on in the morning and then in the evening. There was an extra special touch to things. Shower mat rolled and a flower sprigg attached around. Forgot my bath hat, there was one fresh in a packet there. A menu given each evening for the mornings' breakfast and a good selection to chose from. All freshly cooked and locally sourced. Fruit, cereals, yogurt and toast also. First thing in the morning we was asked how we slept (like babies) The one main thing I will always remember about our stay is how friendly Barbara and Michael are. Nothing is too much trouble for them. They take you into their home and they make sure you will have a good stay. We will be returning, we feel we are lucky to have found The Gables. Thank you Barbara and Michael.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this guest house at the end of August. We arrived early and was allowed to leave the car but was told to come back at 3.30 to check in.

I was greeted warmly when I did go back at the correct time after having walked into town and back a few hours later. We had inadvertantly booked the room that is not ensuite, but this was not an issue as we had sole use of the bathroom across the hallway.

I would say that the room was on the small size but it was perfectly clean, tidy and tastefully decorated. There were nice touches with a bottle of water and a tin with small biscuits in, but these were a bit soft.

The smallish room is dominated by a large old fashioned type bed which I feel if this was changed to a bed without a bottom end it would make the room feel much bigger, give a little more room for manoeuvre and give an option to sit on the end of the bed as there was only one chair. Although the bed was comfortable the metal frame of the bed proved noisy when moving at all preventing a good nights sleep.

Check out we were told was 10.30 and there seemed to be no negotiation about this and breakfast was served between 8 an 9 am. We therefore missed out on a bit of a lie in after not a great night sleep. I was disappointed to have not been asked how we'd slept. Breakfast was reasonable and we were given a few choices the day before. The food was nice, we had pancakes and the full English breakfast. I was disappointed that there was no toast offered to the table just with selected options and I did not feel I could ask for it. There was a few cereal and fruit options in addition to your main dish.

We were weary of the mentions of the owners bring a little too intrusive. We were called 'treasure' and I a 'good girl', which we took in the way we assumed they were intended. I can see why some maybe offended.

I would add that it was about a 15 minute walk to the town from the guest house, partially up hill. There is parking available but is a squeeze particularly if all guests have average sized cars. I thought it was a bit if a shame that some more of the garden is not dedicated to parking. Whilst this looks pretty, I felt that it would have been better for the guests as we were a bit nervous that we would be blocked in or the car damaged by the closeness of the parking. The bushes outside could do with a cut as well as we had to walk on the road when coming in and out which is not the best welcome.

We probably wouldn't stay again if we were visiting in the area again. It was a bit on the expensive side for what we got and we did not have a great night sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavyWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara T, Owner at The Gables Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Check-in times are on your booking companys confirmation that you booked through, which is 3.30-9p.m. and not lunch time, when we are still servicing the rooms. Check-out time is at 10.30a.m. also told to you on your confirmation forms, also in your room in your information file; which you have taken a photo of at the end of the bed. Breakfast time is 8-9a.m. and you could have come down at 9a.m. for yours, but you decided to come down earlier, that of course was your choice.

You are given a Cooked Breakfast form the night before to fill in, there is quite a lot of choices from: Full English, Veg., English, Pancakes, Fish Cakes, Various cooked eggs on toast. On the Buffet Bar there are a choice of four cereals, Fresh fruit e.g. bananas, oranges, apples and grapes. Also, Fat-free yoghurt, saltanas, Chilled Milk and Chilled Orange Juice.

When you came down for breakfast, you were asked how you slept and was everything alright for you both, which you said, lovely, thank you. You were shown the Buffet Bar and you were asked if you would like Teas or Coffees; when you were ready for your main course, you were offered if you would like your toast with your mains or after, never, have we not given guests their toast, unless they do not wish to have any.

Everyone else that has slept in that bed has never said that it makes a noise and couldnt sleep the night, quite the opposite and guests have even written down the name of the bed to be able to purchase one. The metal framed bed is the style we choose for 2x of our rooms, to be within keeping of the age of the property; the beds are not old, they are new, just the style is old.

All 4x of our rooms are different, from a 4 poster king size bed with en-suite, Twin singles/ Super king size double, Standard double room with en-suite to your Standard double room with own private ajacent shower room, which makes us stand out from the rest. We are a small guest house, not a large hotel. We are a happy couple and try to make guests feel comforable and enjoy their stay, obviously, you didnt like the way we are, maybe you would enjoy a larger place, like a Hotel, where you are not really spoken to very often and not have that personal touch and have a much bigger room with several chairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned from a weekend with Barbara and Mike. Fantastic hosts making us feel extremely welcome. The house is in a superb position with an outlook over St Austell. Handy base for all of our favourite haunts along the coast there. The room was spotless and perfect for our needs. Looking forward to being able to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools_and_Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
2.9 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
109 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Guest House

Address: 1 Edgcumbe Road, St Austell PL25 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $78 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables Guest house is comfortable and relaxed, serving good food. Its gardens, with fishpond, can be walked about or sat in and just enjoyed and relax. We also provide evening meals at a reasonable price. We are centrally situated, within walking distance to the town centre. Eden Project, Heligan Gardens, Charlestown and Meavagissey are only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing