We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gables Guest House
Ranked #38 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2011

A pleasant guest house where the welcome was very warm. Room on the small side but nicely decorated and spotless. Shower room lovely and bright (had its own window) and also spotless. Ample towels. Lovely breakfast but the ordering system went a little awry. We made the mistake of having evening meal which is provided on request. The chicken was succulent but the veg were seriously overcooked (I suspect tinned) and no greens. Everthing piled on the plate. Gravy I would describe as "synthetic". A real negative on an otherwise positive experience. Certainly not worth £12.50 which included strawberries and cream.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked this place as we were going to see a concert at the Eden Project, we were very pleased with it.
Barbara and her husband gave us a lovely welcome even though we were early and served us tea in the beautiful gardens while our room was readied.
The room was furnished to a high standard and has all the facilities you would need for a short break...the beds are extremely comfortable too.
The full Engllsh breakfast was one of the best we've had in a long time...We would return for this alone,
all in all this place is a credit to it's lovely owners and St Austell
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank playgroup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked The Gables after reading so many good reviews for a two-day stay in the area. These were well-deserved. The welcome was very warm and we immediately felt cared for, with the offer of an evening meal - with local beer and wine - on a wet evening. Everything was spotless and there are lots of thoughtful touches. Comfortable and enjoyable. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye150647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Rooms very comfortable with four poster bed!! Convenient for Eden Project and other local attractions.

Excellent friendly service. Lent us a map of the local area for our stay. Provided lots of helpful local information.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff_Floyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed for a couple of nights at The Gables in their 4 poster room. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, with a complementary cup of tea and cake whilst we filled in the paperwork. The room was nicely decorated, very comfy and well equipped, including a fridge which is always handy. Just a couple of minor points - the room isn't the largest, so don't expect a huge amount of space. Also, the flatscreen TV was the smallest I've ever seen! It would be well worth replacing this, because it really was quite hard to watch and the sound wasn't great either.
Breakfasts were top quality, and I believe evening meals were available too, which could be handy, especially of arriving late.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

A wonderful welcoming B &B, the two rooms we booked were immaculate, modern and very clean with added personal touches.A varied breakfast available from healthy to traditional, the hosts Barbara and Michael were very accomodating to ourselves and my elderly parents, The gardens to sit in on a warm evening are beautifully kept. Overall a first class B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalsLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

You will get one of the friendliest Cornish welcomes at The Gables. It is a very relaxing place to stay. Our room ,with four poster bed , was spotlessly clean and very well eqipped, with even little extras like an adaptor for an electric toothbrush charger , a local map, and a complimenatry box of chocolates. The pot of tea on arrival was most welcome too. There is a pretty garden and the location is good, and very easy to find is coming from the Eden Project. The bed was was very comfy and we had a relaxing night's sleep. Breakfast was good, with range of choices on the menu. The guesthouse does evening meals - and the sunday roast smelt good - but we had already booked at Austell's Restuarant so did not try it, The only downside was that parking was slightly awkward and it was more expensive than similar standard guest houses we have stayed in elsewhere (although we had a free up-grade to a better room!) Having said that, it is an expensive area and the price we paid seemed to be the going-rate. We would stay there again if we returned to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grange
The Grange
#20 of 97 in St Austell
87 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#12 of 97 in St Austell
223 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Chapel Guest House
The Chapel Guest House
#7 of 97 in St Austell
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 97 in St Austell
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penwinnick House Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Emms Cottage
Emms Cottage
#12 of 16 in Par
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Guest House

Address: 1 Edgcumbe Road, St Austell PL25 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $73 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables Guest house is comfortable and relaxed, serving good food. Its gardens, with fishpond, can be walked about or sat in and just enjoyed and relax. We also provide evening meals at a reasonable price. We are centrally situated, within walking distance to the town centre. Eden Project, Heligan Gardens, Charlestown and Meavagissey are only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing