We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gables Guest House
Ranked #38 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked The Gables after reading so many good reviews for a two-day stay in the area. These were well-deserved. The welcome was very warm and we immediately felt cared for, with the offer of an evening meal - with local beer and wine - on a wet evening. Everything was spotless and there are lots of thoughtful touches. Comfortable and enjoyable. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye150647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    14
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Rooms very comfortable with four poster bed!! Convenient for Eden Project and other local attractions.

Excellent friendly service. Lent us a map of the local area for our stay. Provided lots of helpful local information.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Floyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed for a couple of nights at The Gables in their 4 poster room. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, with a complementary cup of tea and cake whilst we filled in the paperwork. The room was nicely decorated, very comfy and well equipped, including a fridge which is always handy. Just a couple of minor points - the room isn't the largest, so don't expect a huge amount of space. Also, the flatscreen TV was the smallest I've ever seen! It would be well worth replacing this, because it really was quite hard to watch and the sound wasn't great either.
Breakfasts were top quality, and I believe evening meals were available too, which could be handy, especially of arriving late.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regular_traveller011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

A wonderful welcoming B &B, the two rooms we booked were immaculate, modern and very clean with added personal touches.A varied breakfast available from healthy to traditional, the hosts Barbara and Michael were very accomodating to ourselves and my elderly parents, The gardens to sit in on a warm evening are beautifully kept. Overall a first class B & B.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyalsLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

You will get one of the friendliest Cornish welcomes at The Gables. It is a very relaxing place to stay. Our room ,with four poster bed , was spotlessly clean and very well eqipped, with even little extras like an adaptor for an electric toothbrush charger , a local map, and a complimenatry box of chocolates. The pot of tea on arrival was most welcome too. There is a pretty garden and the location is good, and very easy to find is coming from the Eden Project. The bed was was very comfy and we had a relaxing night's sleep. Breakfast was good, with range of choices on the menu. The guesthouse does evening meals - and the sunday roast smelt good - but we had already booked at Austell's Restuarant so did not try it, The only downside was that parking was slightly awkward and it was more expensive than similar standard guest houses we have stayed in elsewhere (although we had a free up-grade to a better room!) Having said that, it is an expensive area and the price we paid seemed to be the going-rate. We would stay there again if we returned to the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

it was our first time in Cornwall and we stayed at the Gables Guest House for a couple of nights. We had an amazing stay! The guesthouse is beautiful and charming.
The room was very nice (4 poster bed), romantic and immaculate. The bathroom was modern and extremely clean (very importantly!). The service is to a high standard and the hostess Barbara is very nice and welcoming. I was looking forward to the breakfast every morning, great selection of food and the pancakes were very good! We will recommend this guesthouse to everyone. You will be welcomed by a very warm-hearted couple and you will enjoy your stay without the shadow of a doubt! G & D

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GD_London_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed at the gables guest house for three nights over the bank holiday weekend. The couple that own the guest house Mike and Barbara were absolutely marvellous hosts and so warm and welcoming. The room were spotlessly clean the food excellent and we can both say that this was proberbly the best guest house we have ever stayed in for making us feel at home. Everyone just go and see for yourselves.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fantasy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.7 mi away
Langdale House
Langdale House
#24 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Mountview Bed and Breakfast
#54 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eden's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Eden's Rest Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gwyndra House
Gwyndra House
#26 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bankside Bed & Breakfast
Bankside Bed & Breakfast
#45 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Guest House

Property: The Gables Guest House
Address: 1 Edgcumbe Road, St Austell PL25 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables Guest house is comfortable and relaxed, serving good food. Its gardens, with fishpond, can be walked about or sat in and just enjoyed and relax. We also provide evening meals at a reasonable price. We are centrally situated, within walking distance to the town centre. Eden Project, Heligan Gardens, Charlestown and Meavagissey are only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing