We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Austell's

Austell's
Ranked #1 of 144 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Austell's is an open planned restaurant with a raised level eating area for the guests to view the chefs working! We pride ourselves in innovative cuisine with an informal, relaxed service!
Sussex,England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a truly very very good restaurant.Brett as a chef must be well on the way to a Michelin *.
His big dish is his lamb whiich is an absolute joy.Emma runs the front of house like clockwork.Delightful young staff and ,I nearly forgot ,desserts and puddings in the top category.
See if you can reserve the table facing Brett,he is a star turn.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,081
    105
    38
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still a favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our first visit this year & as usual Austells did not disappoint. This is our favourite special occasion, great meal with friends, spoil ourselves, any excuse restaurant. As usual the menu makes great use of local produce to present food with a twist. Will be back soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally amazing food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I ate here for the first time with my partners family and was overwhelmed. Everything was brilliant especially the food!! Stunning!! The price was slightly more than you'd pay somewhere else buy I think worth every penny!! Will be back soon for sure!!!

Helpful?
Thank Stuart Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Like many people, I'm often given recommendations of where to eat. Some restaurants are good, some very good, and some disappoint. On arrival at Austell's there is nothing to suggest from the outside appearance that anything other than an ordinary restaurant might be in store. However from the moment we were welcomed on arrival everything exceeded our expectation. Excellent food, we'll presented and a team who offered great service and who were very accommodating to dietary needs. Next time were in the area we'll be back. We'll done Austell's

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We decided to visit while on holiday and tempted as no1 on trip advisor. It deserve its no 1 position. Our meal was beautifully presented and had our taste buds working overtime. Each dish was unique and tasted wonderful. The portions were just right and it was great to see some of the action in the kitchen being open plan. The waiting staff were very attentive . We had a great experience and would recommend it . Wish we lived closer

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haz1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austell's also viewed

 

Been to Austell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing