We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austells..... Interesting open kitchen concept.”
Review of Austell's - CLOSED

Austell's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Austell's is an open planned restaurant with a raised level eating area for the guests to view the chefs working! We pride ourselves in innovative cuisine with an informal, relaxed service!
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Austells..... Interesting open kitchen concept.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

As my partner is a chef i thought i would treat him to something special and it sure was.... Beautifully cooked and presented food, the open kitchen kept him looking in awe at the chef, he loved watching them all at work and he enjoyed the wares of their efforts. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was lovely. I personally felt the desserts were a little expensive at £8.50 for chocolate brownie with homemade ice cream.... It was delicious homemade cherry ice cream though. I highly recommend this restaurant and will be sure to visit again when in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cazndills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,081
    105
    38
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Great Service!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic evening at Austell's restaurant. From the moment we walked in through the door we were welcomed with a smile - the service throughout the evening was excellent. There was plenty of choice on the menu - and when the food arrived the presentation was stunning and it tasted amazing. This is a restaurant that I would recommend very highly to anyone and I will most certainly be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic meal and unbeatable service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We visited Austell's Sunday evening after a day at the Eden Project. From the welcome to receiving the bill everything was first class. The pea purée is to die for...... Not saying the rest of Brett's cooking isn't of the same quality I hasten to add. We managed to leave our shopping behind but they even dropped it off to the hotel that evening first class customer service!!! Try it and trust me you will want to return

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 555mattn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
493 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This unassuming restaurant is an absolute gem. Once seated we were served olives,home made lemon bread with a dipping tray of rapeseed oil, balsamic syrup (delicious) and herb butter. Each course was beautifully presented and the waiting staff explained all components of the ingredients which made for delicious tasty and original combinations.

The staff were all very friendly and professional - the main lady (Emma?) is charming and as we left the one waitress said we should consider returning the following evening. Had we not had a prior arrangement we would have done so without hesitation. A lovely evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a lovely meal we had”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I went to Austells yesterday for lunch with a friend as it was my birthday. From start to finish the service was great, the food was absolutely delicious and the little extra touches they gave me for my birthday were much appreciated - including two kir royales on the house as it was a celebratory meal.

We began with crab risotto, followed by the most succulent chicken and delicious thyme roasted potatoes and then - to die for - one of the best vanilla cheesecakes I have ever had in my life. It is my default dessert and I consider myself an expert - this was one of the best I have ever tasted.

All in all it was a lovely meal, the ambience was perfect and I will definitely be dining there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheznousthesequel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austell's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing