We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Premier Inn attached restaurant”
Review of The Carclaze

The Carclaze
Ranked #28 of 149 Restaurants in St Austell
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Typical Premier Inn attached restaurant”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ate here recently. Staff we had were ok but one or two could do with better training. Starter and main OK of its type. Obviously bought in and heated in microwave. Desserts not good. Caramelised apple two sweet and cloying. Belgian waffles like large biscuits nothing like real waffles.
Nice views from outside if weather permits. Overall not bad of its type just don't expect home made food and it's fine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady Flavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    250
    173
    101
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meal”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great food in comfy surroundings, great view if you can sit outside, depending on the cornish weather

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“INEDIBLE!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Just been to Carclase for Sunday lunch. £10.95 for 2 courses.
Overconfident very loud waitress. Starters ok but nothing special.
VERY long wait for the main course, not sure why, 3 minutes in a microwave and it would have been cooked. Frozen yorkshires, frozen roast potatoes, boil in the bag meat, undercooked inedible veg all covered in bland gravy granules. Absolutely disgusting. Would never go back, without doubt the worst Sunday lunch we have ever been served.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibincornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced - good customer service”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visited this restaurant on august bank holiday . The place was busy, but the staff were really friendly and helpful.

There is premier inn adjacent to the hotel, which is part of same chain.

The views would be lovely in the day, as you could see the sea. we visited in the evening around 9pm.

We ordered chicken markani - childs chilli and BBQ chicken burger, The chicken markani came with rice, and naan bread. This was very tasty and good portion. My husband and the BBQ chicken burger with side salad and chips. He advised me that it wa delicious . Again good portion size. Our friend had childs chilli, she ordered rice to go with this, Very tasty.

The meals were reasonable priced, the deco very nice, staff were helpful.

They do offers though out the week at different times on food and drinks.

if I visit st Austell again, I would return back to this restaurant

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank timike30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service and lovely food”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The food was lovely as always and arrived in good time. We then added another person to our table which wasnt a problem at all to the waiting staff who accommodated them and quickly took their order.

The surroundings are nice and the staff are always polite, helpful and friendly

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carclaze also viewed

 

Been to The Carclaze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing