We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, great food but tired rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bugle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bugle Inn
Ranked #79 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, great food but tired rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Friendly welcome and attentive breakfast service. Bar opens until midnight so expect some background noise from that and the traffic on a busy crossroad junction.
Rooms are clean and comfortable but have dated appearance, some with cramped but adequate bathrooms.
Overall its a convenient stop for Eden etc but at £70 night the national chains can beat the price and rooms but not the personal warm attention!

Room Tip: Not room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StyleSeeker9_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    14
    5
    10
See reviews for
25
21
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Bugle Inn definitely ticked all the right boxes for us. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The pub is friendly, with 4 very well-kept beers and two friendly dogs. The breakfast is very good; we also ate there in the evenings and can recommend the fisherman's pie and chips highly!

It's a really convenient base for the Eden Project too. As the previous reviewer said, it is NOT a hotel nor claims to be. If you want room service etc and don't want any pub noise (although it really wasn't that noisy!) then you've booked the wrong place. But if you want a relaxed base with good food and beer on tap then you couldn't do much better!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank electric_landlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

The Bugle Inn is warm and welcoming, and the proprietors and staff cannot do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The Bugle is spotlessly clean, if a little dated. It lives up to its 3 star status, with a range of good ales and ciders, tasty and well cooked food, and clean en suite accommodation. There is live entertainment most Sunday evenings, so if you want an early night, be aware of this fact. There is a dart board and pool table for those enjoying pub games, and a large, exterior heated smoking area for those that wish to use it. The meals are huge, and come with at least three vegetables.

Bugle is very well situated for the Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Helligan, in fact, anywhere in Cornwall is no more than a hour's drive. A convenient, homely base for Cornish travels.

The Bugle Inn is primarily a public house that offers clean and comfortable accommodation, friendly service, and well cooked and served food. If you want a pub atmosphere, good food, and no "drink and drive" concerns, then the Bugle Inn is the place for you. It does not claim to be a "hotel", so if you want 5 star hotel treament, then find a five star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CartertonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

My wife & I stayed at this Inn only one night as it was so bad.
I made the mistake of booking online by viewing the pictures of this place.
On arrival we had to check in at the bar & were shown to our room by the duty barmaid.
On entering the stairway to the rooms, you could smell the foisty smell of lack of care.
The room was very cramped, & the shower/ en-suite was even worse, the carpets were threadbare,the window box plants were actually growing into the room under the draughty window frames.
The pub had entertainment on the Saturday night, the noise went on untill 1:15 in the morning, ( so no sleep for the guests).
The dogs were wandering around the bar where food was served in the evening & during breakfast.
The only plus was that the food was very good,but we checked out sunday morning & found other accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Austell hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
4.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bugle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bugle Inn

Property: Bugle Inn
Address: 57 Fore Street | Bugle, St Austell PL26 8PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bugle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bugle Inn is a traditional family pub offering 3 Star (AA accredited) en-suite bed and breakfast holiday accommodation. Located on the A391 between Bodmin and St Austell, the Bugle Inn is an ideal base for your holiday in Cornwall, being centrally located and only three miles from the Eden Project. Breakfasts, Bar Snacks, Daily Specials and a full a la carte pub menu are available. The bar offers traditional pub entertainment - darts, pool and jukebox. In addition, you can enjoy live music played by local artists and bands on Saturday and the occasional Sunday evenings or test your knowledge on our regular Quiz Nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bugle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bugle Inn St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing