We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunnycroft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnycroft
Ranked #88 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Me and 3 friends stayed at apartment 4 on Charlestown Road - it was excellent! Great location, close to the Eden Project and a number of other attractions, and 10 mins walk from the sea and a couple of good shops and pubs. The apartment itself was lovely, very clean and modern. Only a couple of small niggles - the info beforehand and in the welcome book talked about views of the bay, some houses were being built next door which obscured the view so that wasn't strictly true. Also no oven glove which made cooking a little tricky and there was no shower curtain of way of attaching the shower to the wall in the shared bathroom so you had to crouch/sit in the bath to use it and not get water everywhere. But these are minor things, overall a very enjoyable few days, would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lora1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjiecornwall, Manager at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review really please to read you all enjoyed the Apartment.
Just wanted to respond on some of the niggles to clarify for future guests.
With reference to the views in all our advertising we have never proclaimed the apartment has bay views not sure where this information came from?
Secondly the apartment does have Two Bathrooms one shower Room and one with a bath. The bath has a hand held shower purely for washing hair etc as this is the design to cater for personal choice.
Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a 2 night stay in one of the annex rooms (no. 5) The room was very clean and well equipped, with everything you would need. The shower was the only let down with weak pressure.

James himself (the owner) was very friendly and helpful, he gave us a map of the town and told us about places to eat nearby. He also kindly arranged discounted tickets to the Eden project so that we didn't have to queue up on the day. A good location near to the Eden project (took us 15 minuets in the car)

Thank you James

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura92_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at sunny croft for 4 nights in room 1. Location was a perfect location for all the attractions. The owners are very friendly, and welcoming. Breakfast was served early, and filled me up until dinner time. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

arrived at sunnycroft and was greeted with a very warm welcome and a feeling that the owners really wanted us to have a good stay. The room was a little on the small side (Room 2) but was sparkling clean and comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning was a delight, £3.50 over and above the free buffet for the full English, beautifully cooked and presented using high quality tasty ingredients.
The service was friendly and bustlingly efficient.

We went out for the day and came back to find a couple of slices of cake had been left for us in the room. A nice touch we meant to mention on leaving but forgot. Apologies.

All in all a very nice stay and we would go back anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We bought the Groupon deal for £89 with the £10 weekend additional charge. We arrived on Saturday afternoon. We were greeted by James who was lovely and friendly. He recommended some places to eat for us.

We slept in room 6, in the annex. This was perfect for us as we could come and go as we pleased without feeling like we were disturbing anyone in the main B&B. The bed was incredibly comfortable and we slept really well. The room is small, but clean and had all the basics we needed - like a kettle and a small tv. The shower took a bit of jiggling about and the door to the bathroom was hard to open / close, but it did not diminish our experience of the B&B.

The cooked breakfast was an additional £3.50 but well worth the extra - it really set us up for a day of exploring. The dining room was clean and comfortable. The B&B is very well situated - close to the Eden project / sea. It was easy to pop back to freshen up before going out to dinner.

Overall - superb value for money at £89 for the 2 nights!

Room Tip: Room 6 is lovely because you have your own entrance / exit. It is small but the bed is very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvyD-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked this trip through Groupon which meant getting a budget room, however the room was suited to exactly what we wanted. It was small, but a cosy small. The perfect room to come back to after day of exploring Cornwalls coasts. The hosts were amazing and did everything they could to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was nice, for £3.50 my partner upgraded to a full English but for value the basic breakfast was the best option. Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: The garage/budget room were brilliant for coming and going without worrying about disturbing the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hl8463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ok, so we bought this via groupon for £89 for the 2 nights stay plus £10 to get weekend dates. Luckily we never paid the £79 rrp per night on this as i think i would have walked out...

Got to the B&B early evening and was told about full English breakfast being an extra £3.50 per person, which i could see my partner wasn't happy about. So warning here is to read the small print, as 'buffet breakfast' includes cereals, fruit, juice and yogurt only.

We were shown to our room (No.5) which was an annexe round the back. Adequate. The shower is pants, bits of mould starting to appear, towels small and frayed, very basic. There were biscuits, kettle and tea bags so i was happy.

Bumped into the male owner (James i think) who was very polite and did his best at all times.

A bit of a squeeze to sit at breakfast.
B&B the main A road.

We had a great time visiting most of southern cornwall so we had a good time in any case.

Compared to others i have stayed at Poltarrow Farm and Edenview its a 2/3*.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaz1234Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.8 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#8 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnycroft

Property: Sunnycroft
Address: 28 Penwinnick Road, St Austell PL25 5DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnycroft 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sunnycroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnycroft St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing