We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be coming back”
Review of Sunnycroft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnycroft
Ranked #87 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not be coming back”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The website states " this 4-star guest house offers a blend of charming period character and modern comfort and luxury, with free Wi-Fi available throughout", so we was very disappointed to not be staying within the house but was located in what appeared to be the original garage of the house which was converted, room no 6. The room had no wardrobe or remote for the TV, also we could not access the wi fi, James did advise that this may happen and we would need to go in the main house. We did ask to be moved to the main house as there were empty rooms but James advised that they were allocated to guests the following night so was not prepared to move us. We found this very unhelpful and could not understand the reason given as we were not given a allocated room number prior to our arrival so why would other guests? There is no mention on the website of the possibility that you may not be staying in the main house or any photos of the converted garage. Disappointed...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjiecornwall, Owner at Sunnycroft, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We were sorry again as we did respond to your email that you were disappointed in your room allocation it is never nice to read negative reviews.
We would like to respond for future guests reviewing our reviews. We have 7 rooms and being a Bed and Breakfast we do not have standard set rooms. They are all different but all decorated with the same design and all our guests can can enjoy all our facilities.
With the comment on moving rooms this was a deal break with large discounts with people mainly requiring the most popular of weekends. We were generally unable to move you with been fully booked otherwise we would of from the outset.
All rooms that allocated when guests booked are informed of their type and location within and out of the property.
We do not have converted garages they are purpose built buildings that we class as an annex. All rooms which are fully described on our website which was also given on the deal which we hope people would go on to before making any bookings
We receive many happy guests that stay in our annex rooms but sorry on this occasion you were un happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Have spent 3 nights at Sunnycroft with my mother on a trip to Eden Project. Lovely accommodation and fantastic breakfast. Ideal location. Can't understand the gripe about the noise.We had a lovely peaceful stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwhite136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Situated on a very busy and noisy road so get hot with the windows shut or get woken up early with traffic. Room nicely done out but small and not sure why it was more expensive than a similar place in Kendall used two weeks previously. Owner very nice but hosting your mates with loud music until very late is not on. Better off in a conventional hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We arrived a little early on the Saturday of August bank holiday weekend and was greeted by James who gave us a tour and showed us to our room. When we booked on the groupon deal I spoke with Sally from sunnycroft and was advised the size of our room and that it's most suitable for a single but would let us use it as a double. We had a few issues with the booking as I recieved a payment email with apologies from Sally that she had over quoted us on price - a nice surprise. I e-mailed at a later date to ask if we could arrive a day later and stay an extra night, I never recieved a reply so called, spoke to Sally who advised the change had been made. I never recieved an email notification so called again a week later and Sally advised the change had never been made, I also asked for an upgrade as I was worried about the room size now after reading the reviews. Sally said they were now fully booked. The room to our pleasant surprise was not squished at all and the bathroom was plenty big enough, we only stayed for 2 nights so a wardrobe and drawers was plenty. The lack of shower curtain was a worry and the cobwebs in the bathroom was the only fault to be found in the
room. Water and glasses were stored in the bathroom however I think this was due to lack of work space, shower gels and shampoos are refilled, and waking up to the smell of bacon was a real treat. Our deal only included cereals and toast for breakfast however we could have upgraded for £3.50 which seemed very reasonable as it looked delicious. We enjoyed our stay immensely and this was mainly down to James who was very welcoming, informative and a great host!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodloversclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This apartment is part of Sunnycroft. We booked for a family of 4 adults and a baby. It is practically brand new, built in what appears to be the one yard thick outer walls of an old building, possibly part of the old foundry perhaps. It has an eccentric layout of rooms and cupboards, but is excellent, with a large living room, one large and one small bedroom and a kitchen with everything but a dishwasher which we were told was coming soon. Cereals and tea etc. are provided, which makes it B&B!
Great location. Nearby Charlestown harbour is just too quaint for words, with tall ships docked! Good food and ale was available there too. Eden Project is nearby, and Looe to the Lizard an hour away.
2 parking spaces are provided. An upstairs and a downstairs toilet, one of which is the shower room.The block is clean and smart. Five minutes from Tesco.
Thoroughly recommended. We stayed an extra night it was so nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipara, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent 2 nights here. The only times we saw James was when we arrived and at breakfast.Our room was clean and nicely decorated but the bed was too big for the room and we had nowhere to put our suitcases.We had to take turns getting to them. The ensuite was tiny but did the job. Breakfast is not served until 8.30am which was a bit late for us (lots of places to go and things to see) but we waited. The small breakfast room was full at 8.30 and everyone had to shuffle their chairs around to let each couple in. Breakfast was lovely. We only ate here once as wanted to be on the road before 8.30am and James was unable to cook breakfast before that. We had dinner in Charlestown as recommended by James and it was good. We had a rental car and Sunnycroft was a good base for us.

Room Tip: Noisey by the road if you have the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at Sunnycroft for 5 nights in August. James was on hand to advise about the local area and had some great recommendations for local places to eat and visit. Breakfast was superb every day, tasty bacon, good quality sausages and smoked haddock to die for. The place was very clean and tidy, eel presented and fitted out tastefully. Bottle of fresh water in the room each day and a topped up biscuit jar are very nice touches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
370 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnycroft

Property: Sunnycroft
Address: 28 Penwinnick Road, St Austell PL25 5DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnycroft 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sunnycroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnycroft St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing