We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pen Star House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pen Star House
Ranked #80 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed one night to break our journey to St Ives ... everything was perfect. Our room was absolutely spotless, stylish and very well equipped. Hosts, Anne and Gary were lovely, professional and friendly and the breakfast was superb; lots of choice, cooked and presented perfectly! If you are looking for quality accommodation in this area then Pen Star House would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your really kind review, we are so fortunate to meet so many really lovely people such as yourselves, it makes all the effort and hard work worth while:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
30
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights during the February half term. We are both teachers who were looking for a relaxing break away from him, which is exactly what we found here at Pen Star guest house. Upon arrival, Anne greeted us and was really friendly, recommending good places to eat and visit. I have a wheat intolerance and Anne said they cater for this with gluten free bread, sausages and cereals - I was very excited to hear this news!

We stayed in room 3, which was a beautiful, clean and spacious room with large en-suite. We were very impressed with the facilities in the room - shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, hand lotions, cotton balls, cotton buds, a discrete stash of sanitary products etc - the list goes on!

We slept well both nights and at no point did we feel like we were intruding in somebody's home. Anne and Gary have a doorbell by the kitchen if you need to call them from their living area, which was a nice touch as we never felt like we were in the way but could get hold of somebody if needed. Anne also said that we could use the dining room whenever we wished if we wanted to bring home a takeaway etc.

Gary served breakfast which was delicious. We enjoyed plenty of gluten free cereals, fresh fruit, strawberries, full English, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and gluten free toast. Excellent breakfast which kept us going until our evening meal both days.

We would definitely stay again, and to be honest, we were quite surprised how affordable our stay was considering how lovely the B&B is and how attentive both Anne and Gary are. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It was a plesure to meet you both, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for such a lovely review, A&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and from start to finish it was perfect. We were given a very clean room with good facilities and the bed was very comfortable. Even though we were next to a main road it was peaceful. There was a great selection at breakfast and tasted beautiful. Our hosts were very friendly and clearly enjoy providing second to none customer service. Will recommend this B&B to others and will stay again. Thankyou.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtic_K8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review A&G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Pen Star is a wonderful place to stay! Gary and Anne are friendly, excellent hosts who have decorated their home/guest house in a professional way that is homely and peaceful. I have found them to be understanding and receptive to my hectic travel needs due to the nature of my visits to the area. Their home is, for me, a respite and haven from everyday living without being expensive. As a non-meat-eater, I can enjoy a delicious hot breakfast here, as well as having a large choice of cold food options - which include plenty of locally made and sourced products.
One of my favourite things about Pen Star is that they have a single room, and that it has a superbly comfortable mattress: it is the only place where I sleep right through the whole night. On my last visit I was impressed with the bath robes that were provided, as well as the good supply of towels and locally sourced toiletries
It is well situated for several attractions in the county, as well as further afield, and the rooms have execellent brochure packs to help plan trips and excursions, with more in Gary and Anne's own sitting room. It is not too far from the railway station, and the town has good bus links too. It is virtually on a very large ASDA's doorstep, and during the summer months they have alarge stock of summer activity items and clothes. Their pay-at-the-pump only petrol stations, along with the near-by Tesco store, have the cheapest fuel prices around, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPrinceKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much, knowing it's appreciated makes all the effort and hard work worthwhile :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

In general, we were pleasantly surprised on arrival (long weekend break).We got it for a really competitive price, and honestly did not expect one of the best B&Bs experience we ever had. Pen Star is run by a lovely couple - very friendly, helpful, professional, and non-invasive :)

Positives: the room & facilities were very clean, and the level of detail have exceeded some 4 start hotels I stayed in during my world travels.
The room will have all the necessary 'bits' you need, so don't bother packing most of the essentials - robes, towels, soap, shampoo, tea, tissues. biscuits, mineral water, hot chocolate ...etc etc - room & bathroom supplies are quite impressive.
The breakfast was fabulous - I'm rather a picky eater, but could always find something on the morning menu, All done to a high standard + wide choice of muesli, juices, and little bits you can start your day with.

Negatives:
It would be unfair to score the hotel down by location, but it's worth mentioning that it's a bit of a walk to a nearest restaurant St.Austel is not really full of anyway.
The room was a bit small, but again, served as well as a central base for short trips around Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to do such a generous and kind review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Anne and Gary are perfect hosts. knowledgable,friendly and amicable to all needs.
the rooms are so clean well stocked and enviromental issues addressed.the breakfasts are second to none..well cooked and ample. well worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

An excellent guest house, in a very good location for visiting the surrounding area.
Welcomed with tea, coffee and biscuits - a nice touch.
Comfortable bed in a nice, spacious room. Although ours was at the front of the house, overlooking the main road, the nighttime noise levels were low.
The hosts were friendly and helpful, especially appreciated when I forgot to switch off the cold-box in the car and flattened the battery.
Breakfast was good - hogs pudding highly recommended.
Our only, very minor, quibbles were that the curtains don't block out streetlights at night, but it IS the owners home and Anne doesn't like absolute darkness, as she explained to us; and that parking is not for those who need 400 square feet to park a Corsa.
We wolud certainly go back.
There is neither a swimming pool nor a fitness centre, hence their being marked down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EsPeeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much, such a kind review, I hope your venison made it home ok and you are now enjoying it :) I didn't quite follow your comments about pool and fitness centre ? We have both a pool and fitness centre here in St Austell, other guests staying the same time as yourselves were using them. And I think I must have missed an amusing incident with a corsa ?? Best wishes to you both A & G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.0 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
No photo provided
Vine Cottage B&B
#11 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Star House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Star House

Property: Pen Star House
Address: 20 Cromwell Road, St Austell PL25 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Star House is a 4 star, silver award B&B and offers a warm welcome to all. It is in an excellent location for visiting all atractions.The Eden Project is 10 mins away and The Lost Gardens of Heligan 15. It is walking distance to The Historic port and beach of Charlestown along with Shops, banks, restaurants, pubs, chemist etc within 5 mins walk. We have Superior, King size and standard rooms offering single, double, twin and family accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pen Star House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing