We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B with hotel-like professionalism”
Review of Pen Star House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pen Star House
Ranked #84 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In general, we were pleasantly surprised on arrival (long weekend break).We got it for a really competitive price, and honestly did not expect one of the best B&Bs experience we ever had. Pen Star is run by a lovely couple - very friendly, helpful, professional, and non-invasive :)

Positives: the room & facilities were very clean, and the level of detail have exceeded some 4 start hotels I stayed in during my world travels.
The room will have all the necessary 'bits' you need, so don't bother packing most of the essentials - robes, towels, soap, shampoo, tea, tissues. biscuits, mineral water, hot chocolate ...etc etc - room & bathroom supplies are quite impressive.
The breakfast was fabulous - I'm rather a picky eater, but could always find something on the morning menu, All done to a high standard + wide choice of muesli, juices, and little bits you can start your day with.

Negatives:
It would be unfair to score the hotel down by location, but it's worth mentioning that it's a bit of a walk to a nearest restaurant St.Austel is not really full of anyway.
The room was a bit small, but again, served as well as a central base for short trips around Cornwall.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to do such a generous and kind review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 53 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Anne and Gary are perfect hosts. knowledgable,friendly and amicable to all needs.
the rooms are so clean well stocked and enviromental issues addressed.the breakfasts are second to none..well cooked and ample. well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

An excellent guest house, in a very good location for visiting the surrounding area.
Welcomed with tea, coffee and biscuits - a nice touch.
Comfortable bed in a nice, spacious room. Although ours was at the front of the house, overlooking the main road, the nighttime noise levels were low.
The hosts were friendly and helpful, especially appreciated when I forgot to switch off the cold-box in the car and flattened the battery.
Breakfast was good - hogs pudding highly recommended.
Our only, very minor, quibbles were that the curtains don't block out streetlights at night, but it IS the owners home and Anne doesn't like absolute darkness, as she explained to us; and that parking is not for those who need 400 square feet to park a Corsa.
We wolud certainly go back.
There is neither a swimming pool nor a fitness centre, hence their being marked down.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsPeeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much, such a kind review, I hope your venison made it home ok and you are now enjoying it :) I didn't quite follow your comments about pool and fitness centre ? We have both a pool and fitness centre here in St Austell, other guests staying the same time as yourselves were using them. And I think I must have missed an amusing incident with a corsa ?? Best wishes to you both A & G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

On our arrival we were grateful for a pot of tea and biscuits met and a warm welcome. Everything about the place was immaculate, clean and cosy. The beds were very comfortable. They had thought of everything a person might need i.e. wine glasses, a cork screw, a hair dryer, a hot water bottle, cotton wool balls, bottled water etc and provided some extra touches e.g. fresh flowers. The breakfast was amazing with a really large number of choices of fresh and tasty local ingredients. probably the best choice in any B&B we have used. We loved that the owners were environmental aware and encouraged their guests to support their efforts. Our bedroom was big and at the back of the house so we were not bothered by traffic noise. Our bathroom was big with both shower and bath.Free off-road parking was also a welcome bonus, as was the free Wi-Fi. Its location was central to a lot of attractions Its great value as we have stayed in places charging more and they have not matched the detail, cleanliness and the service this B&B offers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house should prevent any disturbance by traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

It was lovely to meet you, thank you for taking the trouble to do a lovely review, best wishes A & G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Would just like to thank Anne and Gary for their hospitality, we were welcomed with a warm greeting, we had tea and biscuits on arrival, and shown to our rooms which were spotless, if we tried to pick fault we could'nt, the breakfast was FANTASTIC!!, we have been to many hotels around the world and this has to be the best breakfast by far including the Hogs pudding, guest house is situated in an ideal location to explore many places in Cornwall as recommended by Anne. If wew were to visit St Austell again it would be a definite even if only for one of Anne's star rated breakfast, once again thanks Jill, Gary and Margaret from Liverpool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JILL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you very much, such a kind review, it was really lovely to meet you all x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We travelled to St Austell by train and so this B&B was perfect to get to from the train station - just a 20 minute walk. Our train was a little delayed getting in so we arrived after the check in time, but we were met with a friendly welcome, a pot of tea and biscuits - great, thankyou. Anne chatted about the local area and advised on a number of places to eat out, as well as walks nearby which was incredibly helpful. The B&B is a 20 minute walk into Charlestown where there were plenty of places to eat and a great atmosphere during the day and the night. From here there are great coastal walks to Porthpean and Carlyon. At breakfast, we met Gary who was very friendly. The breakfasts were wonderful. We haven't come across this much choice at a B&B before and the local jam is a MUST try!! There's a great selection of cereal and fruit to start and then a menu with options such as poached/scrambled/fried eggs on toast or traditional breakfast; as well as a specials board (with smoked cheese omlette, local fish, muffins, salmon). We loved the fact that we could choose what we wanted for breakfast, rather than the traditional full English. Gary always asked if we wanted any more tea or toast and we were always ready to start the day after our breakfasts. We took a bus to Mevagissey and Anne checked on bus times for us and advised us the best place to get it from - she was very helpful. It's easy to get to the Eden project from the train station. We were just there 3 nights, but were made to feel very welcome. We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting St Austell.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you guys very much, hope the rest of your trip went well, Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I must agree with some of the past reviewers. This is a bit of an odd place although it cannot be faulted for cleanliness and comfort. The road noise is a bit of a problem but there is nothing anybody can do about that, and with the windows shut you can get undisturbed sleep.

We arrived too early, thinking there might be a chance to drop our stuff . The reception we got was so frosty that we assumed the woman who answered the door was not the owner. We came back after 4 and realised it was indeed the owner the first time around, but she was much friendlier this time, we were offered tea and biscuits and given lots of tips about were to dine.

However, at breakfast we realised that although there was plenty of choices on the menu, the traditional english was only eggs and bacon and there was no flexibility in terms of maybe having an extra egg of the kids menu or swapping a fried egg for a poached one with the muffin, which we found quite amusing. You can only have what it says on the menu exactly as it says it on the menu.

Everything seemed really controlled and inflexible... even the alarm clock was set for us at 7.30 just so that we didn't miss breakfast, which is thoughtful I suppose, but maybe just a bit unnerving - like the quick tidy to our room when we left to go for dinner, which was unexpected...

When I paid on the morning of departure, I was treated to huffing and puffing, no thank you for coming, no safe trip, no goodbye.

I wasn't particularly going to write a review, but then I saw Ann's responses to the negative reviews, and I found them quite aggressive - no apologies, just accusations of people bearing grudges.... Like others, we also felt we were imposing, despite paying good money for our room.I appreciate it is Ann's and Gary's house, but it is their choice to let people in and charge them for the pleasure. If they don't want to do it, maybe they should find another way to earn money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starnstorm, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your review, but to be honest I am totally baffled ??

You did arrive at 12.30 pm instead of from 4pm whilst I was in the middle of trying to turn arround my rooms and you did not ask to drop bags (which would have been fine by the way) but wanted to see if you could check in early - your words. The check in times were quite clear on your booking forms and my confirmation email - however I also stated that prior arrangements could be made for other times which you chose not to request. Appologies for not being able to check guests into their rooms whilst still stripping & cleaning them.

We do NOT set alarm clocks - it was left like that by a previous guest - I appologise for not checking it and turning it off or setting it to a time that would suit you.

Our breakfast menu is extensive with lots of choices INCLUDING a full cooked breakfast as well as traditional eggs & bacon, vegetarian options etc and at least 4 specials on a specials board ! trying to get a poached egg in a towering muffin with all the bacon is very difficult whereas a fried egg is flat and more easily done, appologies again but at the end of the day we are a b&b not a hotel with a chef - I do my best but do appreciate for some it will never be enough.

When you went out for your evening meal I mearly went in and put back on bed the bed spread that I took out and laundered that morning, I did not "tidy" but moved a towel etc off the bed in order to do so, appologies again for being so clean & thoughtful.

I was quite suprised when you checked out - we were still dealing with breakfast and I had not even had chance to speak to you, your Husband & Son had already got in the car and never said goodbye, thank you or anything, and yourself quite curt, we were left wondering what we had done ? and totally confused.

What is a great pity is that if you were so dissatisfied or had real cause for complaint why did you not speak to us ? and at least let us have opportunity to put it right or discuss it ? rather than slate us for what seems to be all your misunderstandings, it is so easy for you to be unjustly rude and crtical on here when you don't have a genuine cause for complaint to speak to us about, by the way it was very nice to meet you, your Son is a credit to you and I found your Husbands job most interesting, best wishes for the future. Anne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,640 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
533 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
3.1 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Star House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Star House

Address: 20 Cromwell Road, St Austell PL25 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $35 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Star House is a 4 star, silver award B&B and offers a warm welcome to all. It is in an excellent location for visiting all atractions.The Eden Project is 10 mins away and The Lost Gardens of Heligan 15. It is walking distance to The Historic port and beach of Charlestown along with Shops, banks, restaurants, pubs, chemist etc within 5 mins walk. We have Superior, King size and standard rooms offering single, double, twin and family accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pen Star House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing