We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frosty welcome”
Review of Pen Star House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pen Star House
Ranked #82 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Koper, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Frosty welcome”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The location isn't bad, if you're not bothered by the busy road outside, and the English breakfast comes up to scratch, but what got me was the frosty welcome from mein hosts. Have we offended them in some way? Why do they let the public into their house if we're not welcome?

Room Tip: The rooms are fine, just a bit noisy at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGuyfromBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
30
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I have travelled extensively in Great Britain and abroad and hoped to give my daughter and her two children a taste of the hospitality which I have received whilst staying at bed and breakfast establishments. So from the write up of Pen Star a warm and friendly welcome was expected. However, this was not so. I only saw Mrs Marston on one occasion during our two day stay and that was on the morning of our departure as she was coming out of the kitchen and I paid her the amount of our bill which was outstanding. I believe the feeling of welcome is either there or not and there was none whatsoever at Pen Star. The cleanliness of our room and the dining room was of a very high standard.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth551721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penstar20, Owner at Pen Star House, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
I have sent a personal reply to this person as they know that this was a very unjustified comment. Gary is a fairly quiet person by nature that does not make him unwelcoming. The fact that they did not see me untill departure was because I was in the kitchen cooking their breakfast each morning whilst Gary served it to them and the 1st day they had gone out for the day before I had finished in the kitchen, they were only in for 2 nights so 2nd morning when I saw them they were departing !! Trip advisor needs to have better policing of these very slanderous unjustified comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights during our holiday in Cornwall and had a very pleasant stay. Anne welcomed us on arrival and was very friendly, as was Gary who we saw each morning at Breakfast. The downstairs room was very comfortable, and our initial fears about being next to the dining room and kitchen were short-lived as we didn't hear any noise from any other rooms. Indeed the guest house was very peaceful at night! Anne and Gary were very quick to sort the problem we had with the freeview box in our room which was much appreciated. The only recommendations for future improvements would be to provide towels in the rooms (one of the photos on their website shows towels on the beds but there weren't any in our room) and leave the guest lounge open a bit later in the evenings. Overall, Pen Star House is a lovely guest house ideally situated in St Austell for the many tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in late June. Easy to find in St Austell and good location for getting out and about in Cornwall. Room was spotless and a good size with tea / coffee making facilites. Bathroom also spotless with electric shower.

The couple that run the guest house were extremely helpful with the knowledge of the area and recommending places to eat and visit. This was really good for us as it was our first trip to Cornwall.

The breakfast was excellent and plenty of options to choose fom too.

Only two negatives but not big enought to put us off staying here again. The bed was a little short for me as I'm 6ft 2in and the it's on a main road so traffic noise was a problem but we found if you shut the bathroom door this improved it greatly.

Would definitely stay here again and also recommend it to others. Excellent facilities and value for money for waht we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Our holiday was fantastic thanks to the wonderful accomodation/service provided at pen star house. Our hosts Gary and Anne were so very welcoming and freindly. They had a vast knowledge of cornwall and some great recomendations for places to visit, eat etc. Our room was beautifully decorated and was spacious and light with all that we could need and more for our stay. Breakfast was something I very much looked forward to each morning during our stay - such a choice from cereals, fruit and yoghurt, toast and jams to full english, there is also a specials board with some delicious breakfast options on! A fantastic guest house experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkyMarkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at the Pen Star last weekend, two adults and 2 children under 8. We had a beautiful family room, with a double and two single beds, it was pleasantly decorated and very clean. Having all the amenities we needed, a separate bathroom with shower, television and lots of tea/coffee and buscuits.

The children were amazed, when they opened the wardrobe to put the clothes away there was a basket of toys and books for them to play with.

Breakfast was wonderful, everything you could want, we had the full english breakfast, and gave the Hog's pudding a try, (it was very nice and tasty, something different), there were cereals, grapefruit, prunes yoghurt as well as fruit juice and also toast, if you could fit it in!

We had a really good stay, and would definately recommend to family and friends and fully intend to stay here again shortly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molliemoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton Oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed at the Pen Star House for a short break (4 days) it was fabulous. The rooms were lovely (we got to choose!) and our greeting was warm & friendly, we were made to feel really welcome. The location was just great everything we wanted to see & do was, as stated on their web site, in close easy reach. The beach and harbour at Charlestown is an easy walk and we loved it. The proprietors (Anne & Gary) were extremely helpfull with much local knowlege and some great ideas which helped us to make the most of our time. Breakfast was simply the best we have had away, the homemade bread was a real treat. Anne's Reiki sessions are amaizing too, my first but definately not my last. We shall certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
488 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
101 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
2.0 mi away
Penarth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Star House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Star House

Property: Pen Star House
Address: 20 Cromwell Road, St Austell PL25 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pen Star House is a 4 star, silver award B&B and offers a warm welcome to all. It is in an excellent location for visiting all atractions.The Eden Project is 10 mins away and The Lost Gardens of Heligan 15. It is walking distance to The Historic port and beach of Charlestown along with Shops, banks, restaurants, pubs, chemist etc within 5 mins walk. We have Superior, King size and standard rooms offering single, double, twin and family accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pen Star House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing