We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B with a fantastic hostess”
Review of The Arches B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Arches B&B
Ranked #11 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B with a fantastic hostess”
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The welcome we had from Nikki and Kendra was just as we would have liked to receive after a long journey. Kendra is one of the friendliest and trained dogs that you are likely to encounter. Nikki is a very warm and homely lady and immediately makes you feel welcome to her home and business.
We had our 2 children with us ( 11 and 9) and they were made to feel welcome straight away.
We had the Attic suite for our 3 night stay, it was very clean and wonderfully presented on our arrival. The children immediatley made themselves at home and turned on the TV and claimed there sleeping arrangements.
The B & B is very conveniently located for the Eden Project which is just a 10 minute drive away. I advise buying your tickets on line before you go and gift aid them as your entry is then valid for a year.

Nikki's breakfasts are to die for and you want for nothing and nothing is too much trouble. We enjoyed the chats and never at anytime did we not enjoy our stay.

Contrary to a couple of other scathing comments that have been made on this website by previous "guests" we will be returning to the Arches and we will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymel256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    54
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
126
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We arrived at The Arches after a 5 hour drive to a very warm welcome from Nicki and Kendra and treated to a lovely cuppa with homemade scones, jam and yummy clotted cream! Nothing is too much trouble for Nicki who treats you like family and does everything to make you feel at home.
We had the Red Room which was spacious and spotlessley clean and the super king size bed was to die for! There was plenty of room to put all your clothes etc, for a weeks stay and the tea tray was always full.
The superb breakfasts made an excellent start to our day. Whatever you want Nicki is pleased to make for you and the food was always cooked to a high standard and arrived on a hot plate ready to devour!
If we required any information regarding trips out and where to eat then Nicki is the fountain of all knowledge and never let us down with her advice.
For all the people who do not like this b&b then there is something wrong with you!
We felt so comfortable, relaxed and rested that we didn't want to leave, and Kendra didn 't want us to leave either !!
Nicki be warned - we will be back !!
Helen & Drew

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helllsbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

A warm welcome awaits you as soon as you ring the door bell! The rooms are comfortably furnished with spotless bathrooms, bedlinen and towels. The bed was one of the most comfortable that I have slept in when away from home. There is plenty of space for personal pocessions and the tea tray is always full ready for use. Nikki cooks a fabulous breakfast; provides cream tea on arrival and when hungry holiday makers return in the afternoons. Her local knowledge is excellent. She has visited many of the areas attractions and restaurants and will give you an honest opinion. In the dining room there are many brochures for the visitor to brouse through in order to plan their stay. We hope to stay with Nikki again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed for three nights in the attic suite, it was so comfortable and clean with everything we needed. Nikki is a briliant hostess and nothing is to much trouble for her. The breakfasts are magnificiant and the scones are to die for! I trully recommend a stay in this delightful bed and breakfast - a trully wonderful stay at such reasonable rates.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Room lovely, Breakfast great, spoilt for choice. Location good, central for touring Cornwall. Last but not least, Nikki is a lovely lady.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFudgies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2010

The warmest welcome you could ask for on arrival, after a 5hr journey to be greeted by Nikki and Nelly and offered a cup of tea we couldn't of felt more at home.
Lovely room with a most comfortable 4 poster bed, we could have stayed a whole lot longer.
The breakfasts were delicious with ample choices and more than enough to set us up for the day.
Can't wait to go back next year.
A real home from home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenchking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We had a lovely stay at The Arches. Nikki was very warm and welcoming, a great cook-her breakfasts would set even the biggest eater up for the day! Plenty of choice and good sized portions. Nothing was too much trouble and Nikki was extremely helpful in recommending "dog friendly" places that we could go to, such as beaches, gardens and pubs. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and our private bathroom was also very clean. Loved the extra touches, such as "Aero" drinking chocolate sachets in with the tea and coffee in our room-(great to have just before bed). Our dog (Ben) got on well with Nikki's dog "Kendra", (we think he missed her for the first few days he was home! ) We would not hesitate to recommend The Arches to anyone we know, as being a great place to stay. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts, Weightwatchers will not be seeing me for a couple of weeks! Keep up the good work Nikki!

We couldn't help noticing a couple of negative comments on this website; all we can say is that the people who wrote them must have taken a wrong turning somewhere, and ended up at "Phil Mitchell's Arches" in Albert Square!
Lynda and Gabriel (Mature couple).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10angelgabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.4 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
370 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 96 in St Austell
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches B&B

Property: The Arches B&B
Address: 78 Bodmin Road, St Austell PL25 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Arches B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your The Arches B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches B&B St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing