We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 night stay”
Review of The Arches B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Arches B&B
Ranked #11 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“5 night stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We intend to return to St Austell in the future. But only if we can stay here at Arches B&B. Warm,friendly,welcoming, down to earth. Breakfast scores 11 out of 10. Nikki cannot do enough to aid your stay. Rooms clean & comfortable. If your back around 4-00pm you get a cream tea among cream teas. ( Nikki can bake a good scone ) Glyn & Diane ( Newflame Derbyshire )

Room Tip: If you have a 2 child family the attic room would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynDianeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    53
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
124
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our freshly baked cream teas on arrival along with a very warm welcome, extended to our furry friend too!
We stayed in the 'green room' for three nights and found it spacious and relaxing.
A good base to explore Cornwall.

Room Tip: St Austell is not a typically Cornish town but is a good base to explore some lovely towns such as F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at The Arches for 4 nights and had a great stay, lovely room, good breakfast and Niki was a friendly easy going host. The B&B is Just 10mins from the town centre if you walk and has a good view of the viaduct nearby. Ideal base for The Eden Project too.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chrishelenHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Friendly, clean and welcoming B&B. Quick/easy access to many places in Cornwall. Lovely room. Lovely breakfast. Especially the white pudding!

Thanks. A restful time with a lovely view of the Viaduct and countryside.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gawkyorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

we would like to thank you for a wonderful stay whilst on our honeymoon. we were made to feel very welcome and the room we stayed in which was the green room was lovely and very comfortable and clean with everything you could wish for. kendra was adorable and was no trouble at all. we even had chocolates and champagne to toast our wedding. i think it is amazing what nikki does on her own and the breakfast was fantastic. people should really read up on where they are staying before booking as it is a bed and breakfast and clearly states it is dog friendly. if you want a comfortable friendly and welcoming and relaxing break then stay here. Alan and Tracey

Room Tip: The green room is wonderful with a four poster bed and ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceykhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blahblah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

- Were made to feel uncomfortable right from the word go. Lived all the time not wanting to upset Nikki. She is a bit overbearing.
- The dog is nothing to write about really. Shes just an old lazy dog. Although I might have chosen to live elsewhere had I known earlier that there was a bigg alsatian roaming arnd - Dogs are not for everybody.
- Breakfast was again ok ok. The biggest turn off was being given a half finished "frozen bread loaf" straight out of fridge to make toast for ourselves.
- The rooms were very clean, though they are old and quite cramped with stuff. The whole setup is that of a converted home rather than a proper hotel. Fair enough, though i expected better somehow.
- As a paying customer, I dont expect to be "told off" (her words) for not knowing where to park ( and parking is indeed v tricky - on sharp turning mountain alley) or for not working out her forms. Neither do i particularly appreciate being constantly mumbled abt silly customers who dont know this or that. I just wanted to get ot of that place as soon as i could.
- i pretty sure cant believe that so many people would be rating this so high. something fishy??

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiArches, Owner at The Arches B&B, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
This review is the perfect example of why it is soooooo important that people read the text on web site .
You stated and I quote ... "The whole setup is that of a converted home rather than a proper hotel"... Well, our website states very clearly that we are in fact a bed and breakfast and not a hotel. In fact nowhere on the website dose it say that we are a hotel.
For your information a B&B is someone's home. That's what B&B's are... people's homes. Which is why I found your mannerism some what disappointing when you were extremely rude and that was before you even came through my front door. Most guest's show respect on arrival. So to turn up at someone's home and be rude before you even cross the threshold is quite shocking!
As for the Dog....well again if you had read the website you would have seen that in fact we are a dog friendly Bed & Breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We had 2 rooms for the 3 of us and stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting the Lost gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project which are both close by. We had the Blue room and the Red room. We had the Blue room which is at the back of the B&B and has an en suite shower room. The room and bathroom were spotless. The bed linen smelt lovely and the bed was very comfortable, in fact I have never slept so well away from home before! The window has a bird feeder on it and it was lovely to see the birds coming and going. We also had the Red room which has a massive bed and bathroom across the landing for the sole use of the room. It also has a view of the viaduct and St Austell.

The breakfast is cooked fresh for you and the plates always hot, it made such a change to have real mushrooms instead of those horrible tinned ones most hotels and B&B's use.

The town is only a 5 minute walk which meant we could walk there for dinner and found Weatherspoons really good for a very reasonable evening meal.

What really makes this place is the attention to detail from Nikki, she puts so much effort into making sure everything is just right for your stay and nothing is too much trouble. I'm not a real dog lover but Kendra is lovely, really friendly and does not bark or jump up. Apparently she hates people leaving and she actually howled as we drove off! We would recommend the Arches and will be back to explore more of Cornwall.

I have stayed in some amazing hotels all over the world and found the Arches a pleasure to stay in, it is not 5 star but if you want 5 star you need to go somewhere else and pay 5 star prices, however if you want a warm welcome from someone who can't do enough to make sure you have a good stay, a comfortable and clean room with wonderful scented linen and an excellent breakfast this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholdiays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.4 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
366 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
488 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 96 in St Austell
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches B&B

Property: The Arches B&B
Address: 78 Bodmin Road, St Austell PL25 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Arches B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Arches B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches B&B St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing