We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elms Guest House
Ranked #16 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My daughter Sarah and I stayed for one night while visiting Heligan gardens. We immediately noticed the lovely Bhudist style front garden so it was a pleasure to meet Peter and chat about Thailand. We stayed in Sweet Briar which was very comfortable and had a great bathroom. Peter is a great host and very friendly,our full English breakfast cooked by him was delicious and we would definatly stay there again. Angela B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Bank holiday, struggling to find a room, found a nice private, single here, behind garage but worked well for me as very quiet. Host was exceedingly helpful as he was going out for the whole afternoon and evening and I didn't arrive till 6pm. He simply organised to leave the key for me!! Very trusting. Very comfortable and very reasonable price, excellent value :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I can easily recommend The Elms Guest House! It has a great location, parking onsite, a delicious breakfast, absolutely wonderful hosts and a very comfortable house. It is great for visiting the coast, the Eden Project, and The Lost Gardens of Heligan. I almost skipped the Eden Project but Peter was so passionate about it I just had to check it out. He was right, it was worth the stop an fascinating. Peter and Nuth were so kind and willing to help out in any way they could. I stayed in the annex room which is perfect for one person, especially if they are on the shorter side because the ceilings are quite low. I slept great and was very relaxed in this great little room. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihavethewanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the sweetbriar room over valentines day and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The room was lovely with a really comfortable bed. It felt warm and relaxing and a pleasure to come back to.

Peter and Nuth gave us great advice about attractions in the area as well as recommending excellent food for an evening meal, they also provided a delicious and generous breakfast each morning with a welcoming attitude.

All in all a very welcome break; we thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Only stayed for one night. I couldn't have asked for a better welcome or more friendly hosts.
The single annex room was very clean, comfortable and had everything you could wish for. ( the low ceiling wasn't a problem at all and I'm 6ft tall )
The breakfast was excellent.
I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't be put off the annex in the converted garage, unless you are over 6'1". Its a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nuth and Peter made me feel very welcome. Keen to help with local knowledge and to ensure that one's stay is comfortable. Unless you are a very tall person, try the cosy, compact, self-contained 'garage' room - like having one's own little chalet! See the intriguing and restful 'oriental' front garden area, and splendid conservatory dining area.

Room Tip: If travelling solo, only choose the garage room if you are under 6 ft tall - your hosts will ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The perfect place for a stay in the heart of Cornwall. From the moment we walked through the front door we felt at home our hosts Peter & Nuth were fantastic very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful what more could you want. My wife and I stayed in the Eden Suite which we loved it was very clean, had a very comfortable double bed and a large bathroom with an additional whirlpool bath (also shower over bath) and a bidet to boot. We particularly looked forward to going into the conservatory every morning to have our full Cornish breakfast which was superb and set us up for the day. Pete's recommendation of the Harbourside pub in Charlestown was spot on we ate there twice during our stay and couldn't fault the food. All in all the Elms is a lovely place to stay and very handy for the town of St Austell (10-15 min walk), The Eden Project (1/2 hour drive), Charlestown (10 min drive), Mevagissey (25 min drive) etc. Highly recommended will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan4Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 97 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Guest House

Property: The Elms Guest House
Address: 14 Penwinnick Road | St Austell, St Austell PL25 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elms Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms Guest House is a warm and friendly accommodation providing bed and breakfast in the St.Austell area on the Cornish Riviera. A magnificent Georgian Style House dating back to the1920's. Many of the fine original features have been lovingly maintained including wooden panels and old radiators. We provide surroundings for your relaxation and comfort and for that special occasion our King Size four poster bed is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elms Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing