We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke Of Cornwall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duke Of Cornwall
Ranked #44 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
271 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“OK stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

When we booked I knew that we would not have an ensuite (which we normally do when staying away from home). I have to say we will ensure that we do have an ensuite in future - my DH did not like having to use the shared toilet. The room itself was ok but the tv was hard to work. Staff did eventually come and sort it for us - they were very busy in the bar downstairs.
When we arrived there was a street party going on, so we couldnt get to the car park. It would have been helpful if the pub had informed us of this before we arrived as we had to go all round the houses to park anywhere near the pub until they opened the street again at 6pm.
Also it was a taxi ride into town to get something to eat as there had been a kitchen fire, so no food available. Breakfast was very hit and miss as the landlady was called away and there didnt seem to be any organisation.

Room Tip: get a room with ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JillyTPreston_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
26
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The room was spotless, the staff couldn't be friendlier and the breakfast was good. Overall a very good value for money.

Oh - The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrenikaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Taking my mother on a five day trip to Cornwall could have been difficult - she's 87. However, the day we left I hurt my back and it was me who was a problem for the whole trip. Luckily, I'd booked us into the Duke of Cornwall Pub. I did this because I wanted not to have to take her out each night to eat. The owner managers were great, helpful and obliging when I needed assistance, recommended places nearby for the day I hadn't planned and happy to stop for a chat if they weren't busy. We had a lovely room with a little en suite but also use of the beautiful bathroom - great to soak my poor back! The restaurant food was good, honest pub grub and on the one occasion I wasn't happy with it, they took it straight back. A very comfy bed and bus stops outside the door to get you to and from the station made this the perfect spot for us. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel was spotless, the food was plentiful and fantastic. The staff were so helpful and friendly they couldnt do enough for us. Great location for visiting the Eden project, the only thing I found odd was the shared toilet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

stayed 11th to 15th September.Accomodation was very comfortable even though we did not have a full en suite and shared the toilet in the main bathroom with one or two other rooms.The owners Debbie and Anthea and all their staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, and my wife and I will definitely return. Thankyou all.
Nigel and Pat

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I must agree with Helen2502 the food/service in the establishment was absolutely Great, the Staff were extremely freindly and very welcoming as were the patrons, we stayed in the same B&B as Helen2502 so we also spent a considerable amount of time in the Duke of Cornwall for the very same reason. The Sunday Carvery was fantastic, all meals were very good value too. A Hearty Thank you to all the Staff for making us feel so comfortable.
I would also suggest putting the restaurant itself on Trip Advisor. Well worth visiting, you can't go wrong with this Place.

Room Tip: Unfortunately we did not stay here, wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theworkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We did not stay here so I can't rate the accommodation, however it was the nearest pub to our B&B so we spent a fair bit of time in the bar. The staff were very friendly and hospitable. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and expected bog standard pub food but it was of a superb standard. The steaks were of excellent quality and the puddings were fantastic. I would suggest putting the restaurant separately from the B&B on Trip Advisor.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
0.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Elms Guest House
The Elms Guest House
#19 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karmary Guest House
Karmary Guest House
#28 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Of Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Cornwall

Property: Duke Of Cornwall
Address: 98 Victoria Road, St Austell PL25 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duke Of Cornwall 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Duke Of Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Cornwall St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing