We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accomodation and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke Of Cornwall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duke Of Cornwall
Ranked #44 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great accomodation and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

stayed 11th to 15th September.Accomodation was very comfortable even though we did not have a full en suite and shared the toilet in the main bathroom with one or two other rooms.The owners Debbie and Anthea and all their staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, and my wife and I will definitely return. Thankyou all.
Nigel and Pat

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
26
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I must agree with Helen2502 the food/service in the establishment was absolutely Great, the Staff were extremely freindly and very welcoming as were the patrons, we stayed in the same B&B as Helen2502 so we also spent a considerable amount of time in the Duke of Cornwall for the very same reason. The Sunday Carvery was fantastic, all meals were very good value too. A Hearty Thank you to all the Staff for making us feel so comfortable.
I would also suggest putting the restaurant itself on Trip Advisor. Well worth visiting, you can't go wrong with this Place.

Room Tip: Unfortunately we did not stay here, wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theworkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We did not stay here so I can't rate the accommodation, however it was the nearest pub to our B&B so we spent a fair bit of time in the bar. The staff were very friendly and hospitable. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and expected bog standard pub food but it was of a superb standard. The steaks were of excellent quality and the puddings were fantastic. I would suggest putting the restaurant separately from the B&B on Trip Advisor.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Had a super stay...the bathroom is lush!!!
I think it has recently been decorated and very nice it is too.
Friendly bar staff and very helpfull.
Both landladies were very pleasant and happy to accommodate where they could.
Clean and tidy.
Will most certainly return again.
Well placed to use as a base for days out.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sararedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Arriving with my elderly mother for a 5 night stay, we were told that the booking had not been taken! Not to worry, Anthea and Debbie were more than accomodating and found us a twin room for our first night, a double for our second and back to the twin for the rest of the week - they were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble.
It is a busy pub / restaurant and we were made to feel very welcome - even when we brought 30 hungry dart players back with us one evening - they managed to feed them all with their lovely home cooked food.
We joined in with the quiz on mid week roast night - 2 courses for £6.95 and the Banoffee Brule was to die for (honestly).
Maybe the only downside is the location, the front rooms are quite noisy from traffic but I would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

The 'Duke' received no crown, worth the money, rooms could have been better equiped and maybe cleaner, staff your average run of the mill b&b.I did not like the breakfast, this is the first time I have ever stayed in a B&b and not enjoyed the breakfast.
Would I stay again, I don't know

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradley174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

My husband and I booked this hotel for a long weekend. We were very pleased with the accommodation. Everything was spotless. The restaurant food was excellent you have got to try the homemade pie (the chef has won awards for his pies). Very very reasonably priced. We eat there every night knowing we were going to enjoy the food. Made friends in the pub bar as everyone was very friendly. The two ladies who own the pub and hotel are lovely and made our stay very pleasant. Will be going back.l

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuttedfromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
0.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Elms Guest House
The Elms Guest House
#19 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Karmary Guest House
Karmary Guest House
#28 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Of Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Cornwall

Property: Duke Of Cornwall
Address: 98 Victoria Road, St Austell PL25 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duke Of Cornwall 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Duke Of Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Cornwall St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing