We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Beech Tree Guest House
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart(St Austell)
$154
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Travelodge
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel(St Austell)(Great Value!)
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
139
10
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
139
10
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain and bus stationb beden projectwouldn't stay anywhere elsepiping hotset us up for the dayterrybreakfastheliganlostwithiel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 153 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to St Austell to see some of the nearby sights such as the Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan and Mevagissey. The Beech Tree Guest House is ideally suited for all of these attractions and more.
From the moment we arrived we were made welcome with a cup of tea and biscuits. Shane and Terry have obviously put a lot of thought and effort into the business to make guests feel welcome. There are a lot of knickknacks around which may not be to everyone's taste.
We stayed in the small double, it is a little cramped. We did get a look at the larger double which was much roomier. The mattress in our room is reaching the end of its life but we slept well. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.
There is a good choice of breakfast from a full English to kippers, continental Etc. and cereals, fruit and yoghurt are also provided. Excellent start to the day.
Shane and Terry were fantastic hosts providing great value accommodation. Overall we had an excellent stay and would highly recommend the Beech Tree Guest House.

Room Tip: If available go for the larger double as the smaller one is a little cramped
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverpablito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, Owner at The Beech Tree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our hospitality.
With regards the comment on your room this is the room you specifically asked for, for yourselves and your dog. The mattress in this room is less than 2 years old and has a luxury memory foam mattress toipper and I think the' knic knacks' you were refering to are actually antiques

Regards
Shane & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We booked the larger double room 4 months before our visit and had written confirmation of this. We were surprised at the rather 'cosy' nature of the room we were given, particularly the en-suite. It didn't occur to us at the time that we hadn't been given the room we had booked and the guest house was full our first night.
As noted by others, the cup of tea on arrival was very welcome as was the local information. The breakfast was excellent. We used the local bus to visit the Eden Project. Beech Tree Guest house is very convenient for this.
We paid the balance of the bill (for the larger room) and it wasn't till we got home that we realised we had been overcharged, the room number is actually shown on the confirmation although we hadn't realised this at the time. The money was refunded by Shane but why were we charged for the larger room. Shane was aware which room we were in.
We could not recommend the smaller double - it is too cramped for 2 people. Had we been in the room we booked, we would probably have awarded 5 stars.

Room Tip: Book one of the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, Owner at The Beech Tree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Firstly, We would like to apologise for the mix up in the allocation of your room This was a genuine error on our part and we were quite happy to refund any over payment.
We appreciate your comments regarding our hospitality& helpfulness and that you found our guest house to be in a very convinient location to make the most of your stay.
We are sorry that you thought the room you were allocated to be of a cosy/cramped nature ,but would just like to say that this room and ensuite meets and indeed exceeds the requirements for a double room at a 4 star level under the Visit Britain rating system. We therefore advertise all our rooms according to their criteria. Photographs of all rooms with shower room doors open along with dimensions can be found on our website.
Many previous guests have stayed in the room you were given and found it quite acceptable

We feel that we offer clean ,comfortable, well equipped rooms in a very convenient location at very competitive prices.
Regards
Shane & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I cannot fault The Beech Tree Guest House in St Austell. The bedrooms, breakfast room and food were excellent. The added attraction is that it is about 3 minutes walk from St Austell's rail/coach/bus station. For anyone without a car it is ideal. It meant that we had no problem getting buses to Heligan or Mevagissey or the Eden Project. A local pub called the Hop & Vine was also ideal for our evening meals. (See Trip Adviser)

I would certainly recommend it, and hope to return again.

Room Tip: All four rooms are ground level.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxineDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, Owner at The Beech Tree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and thank you for your kind comments.
Regards
Shane & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Shane and Terry gave us a lovely friendly welcome to the Beech Tree B&B and we had three great days staying there. Attention to detail was perfect and the breakfasts great, more than enough. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, Owner at The Beech Tree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Shane & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I visited this wonderful B& with my dauther, and we had a wonderful time. My daughter had moved to England, and I wanted to visit Cornwall, and Heligan Gardens. Shane and Terry made us feel right at home, showed us our twin room, complete with Teddy bears, offered us tea and cookies upon arrival,and gave us the keys so we could come and go as we pleased. Shane was also very knowledgeable aout the area, and helped with were to get the bus, were to shop, and eat. I also had a wonderful gluten free breakfast each morning. Also Heligan Garden offers a wonderful choice of freshly made gluten free items. Thanks again Shane and Terry !

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, as another couple staying at the same time stated, and we agree !
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarOlita1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, Owner at The Beech Tree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Many thanks for your review.
We are pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a pleasant journey back to Canada
Regards
Shane & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews