We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Cornwall attractions”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beech Tree Guest House
Ranked #42 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Shane was very helpful when deciding where to eat, which bus to catch and the best places to visit. The house was very clean but you could hardly call the bathrooms "spacious" as described on their website. They were tiny! We found the breakfasts rather plain after some B&B s I have stayed in. The bed was uncomfortable and I had to sleep between 2 pillows so that the springs in the mattress didn't dig in! whilst we were there we heard people complaining in the night that their bed had collapsed. They were told nothing could be done till the next day. It's a pity as the house was in an excellent position for travelling round Cornwall but I don't think we shall be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamtob, Owner at The Beech Tree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are pleased that you found our house very convenient for your visit for Cornwall and that you found it easy to get around on local transport. Thank you for your comments regarding the advice we gave on where to visit ,places to eat and what buses to catch ,we're pleased you found it useful and enabled you to make the most of your stay with us. It was also pleasing for you to note our high levels of cleanliness.
We are sorry to hear that you found the mattress in your room uncomfortable and wish that you had let us know this during your stay-we may have been able to offer you an alternative room or change the mattress. The mattress in your room was a Silentnight Microcoil of medium firmness less than 12 months old . We opt for medium firmness mattresses as will feel this will suit most guests. We have now put a luxury memory foam mattress topper on this bed and hopefully guests will find this more comfortable.
With regards to our bathroomss we describe them as ensuite shower rooms and not full sized bathrooms as they do not have baths and this would be misleading. Our ensuites meet the requirements of Visit Britain and are of ample proportions.
We were disappointed that you felt our breakfasts were plain. We try to offer a comprehensive choice to cater for all guests tastes and dietry requirements . Most of our guests seem more than happy with what we offer (please see previous reviews) We are holders of the 'Kellogs Breakfast Award'.
We are not sure why you commented on the Broken Bed situation as this related to another guest, but since you have then I would like to respond- As with any bed and breakfast or hotel things occasionaly break and the situation requires action.The bed was made secure and the guest was able to sleep on it. The bed was fully repaired the next morning.The guests concerned were quite happy with the way the situation was dealt with -No guest had to sleep on an unsafe broken bed.

Our estabishment is Assessed annualy on an overnight visit from Visit Britain and we continue to meet and exceed the requirments needed to maintain our 4 star rating in all areas from rooms,bathrooms ,food choice and quality along with our service and customer care.

I would just like to add that we feel we offer clean, comfortable and very competitively priced accommodation at this level in a very convenient location

Regards
Shane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 153 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lovely hosts, who were really helpful and accommodating. Shane gave us lots of ideas for day trips and also helped us find a restaurant nearby which would still be serving as we arrived a lot later than planned! Wonderful breakfast, both the continental and the full English were brilliant and a lovely way to start the day. Brilliantly equipped room with all the necessities along w
ith some wonderful extras. The tea/coffee tray was well stocked and replenished each morning as well as bottled water. The toiletries were lovely, nice grapefruit shower gel which I preferred to the one I had brought with me! Would recommend to anyone as a wonderful base for exploring Cornwall.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which was a perfect sized double for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleyBar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamtob, Owner at The Beech Tree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We think this is our 6th or 7th visit to The Beech Tree, we took our daughter, her partner and grandson. Shane and Terry were very helpful making sure the little one had his usual bedtime milk. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are excellent. We are always made to feel very welcome. We'll be back next year

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamtob, Owner at The Beech Tree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for once again taking the time to leave us a review. It was lovely to see you all again and hopefully we will see you again in October

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A home from home. A pleasant welcome with plenty of good information about the locale. Shane and Terry were happy to impart useful titbits about their adopted county whilst serving up heart, well-prepared breakfasts. This location gives quick and easy access to Eden, Heligan and a host of other 'must-visit' sites in this part of Cornwall. Our room was well appointed with tea/coffee and snacks and was lovely and clean, with the beds made up every day. Our host were very prepared to 'go the extra mile' and, in our case they did. Having left a couple of items under the bed when we left, they were in the post and with us a day after our return ( items of clothing - laundered!). If you're looking for a comfortable base, in a quiet location, close to St Austell town centre and railway station, then this should certainly be considered.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank localhero13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamtob, Owner at The Beech Tree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you afain one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in St Austell for five days during September 2012 and luckily the weather was wonderful. We found our room clean and tidy, bed made every day, and lovely & quiet at night. We would thoroughly agree with other reviews - the welcome with a tray of coffee/tea, and Shane & Terry made us feel at home. There was ample parking both front and rear, and plenty of places to eat in St Austell. Shane was very knowledgeable about the local area, and gave us tips on how to avoid queues at attractions.
The breakfasts were great, good choice of cereals, fruit etc. and wonderful cooked breakfast with great variety, booked the previous evening. I felt that nothing was too much trouble for the hosts, and although I am not a 'morning' person, it was nice to chat to other guests at breakfast.
If we ever return to the area, we will certainly stay at the Beech Tree.
With thanks, Jan & Paul Beeson.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Besides being a stone's throw from the station - only a very short walk through a pleasant little park - Beech Tree Guest House is also a tastefully designed bungalow with light, airy rooms and very comfortable beds. The rooms are spotless, and though ornaments are kept to a minimum, those that are displayed are beautiful and in keeping with the decor. Oh, and every bed has a teddy bear! The hospitality tray - and this is the clincher - includes a cafetiere with ground coffee in a keep-fresh container. Fantastic! Why don't more B&Bs do this? The shower was hot, with good pressure and the complimentary toiletries were of excellent quality. And now to the breakfast. I don't do cooked breakfasts so I had my usual muesli with grapefruit and Greek yogurt, followed by wholemeal toast and a huge cafetiere of excellent coffee. I do recommend that you try the marmalade - apparently it's homemade by a neighbour - it's the best I've tasted since my own mother's recipe. Unfortunately it's not available to buy, but if enough people rave about it, perhaps she may be persuaded! From what I could see, the cooked breakfasts looked delicious and the portions generous.The delightful Shane will tell you all you need to know about where to go and how to get there, he is a one-man tourist information centre. St Austell may not be as picturesque a village as Mevagissey or Fowey, but the Beech Tree Guest House is a jewel and is situated very conveniently for Heligan and the Eden Project while nearby Charlestown is only a 20-minute walk away. The tariff is extremely reasonable for accommodation of this quality, particularly if you are able to handle the generous breakfasts! Thank you Shane and Terry for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniehonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at the Beech Tree for 3 nights (August 2012). My daughter and I were really impressed with the welcome and attentiveness of the hosts and the spotless comfy twin room. The hosts made us feel very welcome and provided us with a much welcomed coffee and biscuits on arrival after our long coach journey from Manchester. They were very informative and helpful, and made us feel very welcome. The b&b was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated; the hospitality tray in the room was very well stocked and replenished every day; some toiletries provided in the bathroom; selection of DVD's available in the dinning room; lots of information on things to do and see. Good location to bus and train station. Highly recommended :) Really deserves the trip advisor award :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.2 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
108 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
5.3 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
3.2 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beech Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beech Tree Guest House

Address: 23 Beech Road, St Austell PL25 4TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $60 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 2 min walk from train and bus stations and town centre.Nearby attractions -Eden Project,Lost Gardens of Heligan,Charlestown,Fowey,Mevagissey. Ground floor rooms available. Free Wifi.Off road parking.Credit/Debit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beech Tree Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing