We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy stay in St Austell.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beech Tree Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beech Tree Guest House
Ranked #27 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy stay in St Austell.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent three nights at this lovely B&B with my parents in June 2012. Location was good - we had a car so getting around Cornwall wasn't an issue and the B&B was a 10 minute drive to the Eden Project and Charlestown, a beautiful harbour village with nice restaurants. We drove to Rick Stein's restaurant in Padstow one night and it took about an hour. Shane and Terry were wonderful hosts - Shane welcomed us with a cup of tea and biscuits and seemed genuinely interested in all our travels and plans for our Cornwall stay. He was always friendly and offered advice on places to eat and visit. I had a twin room with two single beds and it was very comfortable. Bathroom was small but fine for one person. The room had lots of little touches like a well stocked coffee tray, toiletries and even teddies on the beds - too cute. DVDs were available to watch but we were often too tired after a full day. Breakfast was delicious and always plentiful - cereal, toast and hot items every morning. We always left very full and ready for a busy day of sight-seeing! Wi-fi was free and parking was always available at the front of the building. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ema51n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
80
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southsea
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was probably the best B&B we have stayed in. We could not fault the hospitality. The breakfast was very good and kept us in good stead for a day's sightseeing. There were lots of nice little touches - from the variety on the hospitality tray to the up-to-date DVDs available for borrowing - which really lifted this B&B above others we have stayed in. Shane was very welcoming and a mine of information. This B&B was in an excellent location for those wishing to use public transport to get around. Thank you, Shane and Terry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I recently spent a week travelling round Cornwall with my Mum and this was far and above the best place we stayed. We felt so welcome and found the rooms to be full of lovely touches from the range of the teas, coffee, etc to the range of DVDs available to borrow from the breakfast room. Shane was a wonderful host, his tip about getting to the Eden project early to avoid the rush when the coach trips arrive was great.
The location is amazing; so close to the station and to the centre of town. And there is still off road parking space for each room.
Excellently cooked breakfast and great range of cereals etc too. I really can't recommend this place enough and should I ever be in the area again it will be my first choice.
Oh, and I loved the bear too!

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms and I'm sure they are all the same great quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

the people were very nice nothing was too much for them new dvds available for us to watch it was close to the station and bus stop they were always on hand with advice of places to go and how to get there we cant wait to go back there good location for eden project and lost gardens of heligan they aslo told us of some unknown places no swimming pool or fitness centre but its a guest house not a hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taz9883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hi myself and my partner stayed there for a week in May 2012. Its a great place to stay to visit a lot of the popular places in Cornwall such as Heligan gardens and the Eden project. Shane and Terry were very informative and helpful regarding places to visit and how to travel to them. Breakfast choice was great and very tasty.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

excellent position for the town and local amenities.Shane was a very welcoming host.Breakfast had good choices and was very presented.
Only one query was the bear necessary.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martynstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable stay at the Beech Tree Guest House in St Austell. Good position for transport links, both train, local buses and for local amenities. Bedrooms very comfortable with plenty of toiletries. Breakfasts excellent with plenty of it from our welcoming hosts. Only one quibble, if can call it that, with no heated towel rails in bathroom difficult to get bathsheets dry particularly if not wanting them changed every day - perhaps bathtowels would be more than sufficient. Would highly recommend for anyone wanting to leave the car at home.

Laurie and Sue

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suelar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwyndra House
Gwyndra House
#25 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Topos Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Elms Guest House
The Elms Guest House
#19 of 98 in St Austell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karmary Guest House
Karmary Guest House
#29 of 98 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beech Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beech Tree Guest House

Property: The Beech Tree Guest House
Address: 23 Beech Road, St Austell PL25 4TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 2 min walk from train and bus stations and town centre.Nearby attractions -Eden Project,Lost Gardens of Heligan,Charlestown,Fowey,Mevagissey. Ground floor rooms available. Free Wifi.Off road parking.Credit/Debit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beech Tree Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing