We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterwheel Inn
Ranked #3 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We used the B and B as a base for a weekend away with friends to explore Eden and Lost Gardens and to celebrate a birthday. We were made to feel very welcome by Francesca and Dave as well as Kernow the dog and Bailey the cat. The evening meal and breakfast were top quality and all good value for money. Yes, the rooms are quite small but there is plenty of room in the lounge and if the weather were better, in the conservatory and on the terrace. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Waterwheel.
My head is still juggling, 19, 5 and 251810 but I had to throw away the acronyms as I needed some sleep!

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    98
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
93
296
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

great stay would highly recommend great food and lovely company we were made to feel very welcome room was very comfortable clean and tidy.the breakfast was really nice freshly cooked and we could choose what we wanted

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for this kind review. I am really glad that you loved your stay at The Waterwheel . Mark cooks a fabulous Full English breakfast but we have also just added a few more things to the breakfast menu to ensure even those who don't enjoy the great British fry-up can enjoy greater choice.
We hope to see you again.

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

the room and en suite was on the small side but was very clean and comfortable. However a full length mirror was needed as there was only one small mirror in the shower room. The staff were friendly and the food was good. There was plenty of parking space. Overall it was good value for money. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt we offered good value. Our rooms vary in size and are more homely and quaint rather than palatial but I am glad that you found them comfortable and clean. I do take your point about the lack of mirrors and will be rectifying this over the next few days.
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Have just had a couple of nights at this inn and found Penny and Jeff extremely welcoming and friendly, they really put themselves out for the guests. The Waterwheel inn is well situated, good parking, excellent breakfast, the option of an evening meal in the restaurant -so we could both have a drink with our meal. Our room was small but clean and well set out with coffee/tea, tv, hairdryer and a good array of toiletries.
I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had room 6 -when you open the window there was a stream below, I loved the sound of running water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topgirlk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
You may have realised that the response to your review was accidentally written on the next person's review. Apologies for that. I have asked trip advisor to with them but have had no reply so I will respond to the previous review below but thank you again.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Yes, we are very dog friendly and Kernow is happy to share The Waterwheel Inn with friends both human and canine, Bailey is not so sure about dogs!
It would be lovely to welcome you again next time you visit Cornwall.

Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Waterwheel Inn. Very friendly, dog friendly and the food was brilliant. Unfortunately the weather was not good so prevented us from exploring the garden but from the inside looking out it looked lovely. The rates and food prices were very reasonable.

Will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Room 8 was very handy for taking the dog out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. I am so glad that Penny and Jeff looked after you so well in our absence; they are gems!
I am delighted that you enjoyed eating at our restaurant; many of our guests comment on how nice it is to be able to have a relaxed meal after a hard day's sightseeing. I am also glad you were soothed by the sound of the river; I love that too.
I do hope you will return to The Waterwheel next time you are in Cornwall.
Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

What a lovely find. Tastefully restored, full of charm and lovely food.
We stayed for one night and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome.
My only complaint would be the lack of mirror in the bedroom. But we will return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nattydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is an ideal place to stay if you are visiting the Eden Project or some of the many splendid Cornish gardens that are within a few miles. Four excellent hosts will greet you, two human, the world's friendliest labrador and one of the biggest cats I have ever seen!

This hotel is very pet friendly, provides good food (the full English breakfast will last you all day), evening meals are good, with a wide choice of meat and fish. The sole was superb.

The building itself has been very well restored and has many delightful features. Rooms are comfortable and the bed linen, so my wife tells me, is of very high quality. We will be going back.

Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Derek996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Property: The Waterwheel Inn
Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our fourteen en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing