We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UK tour 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterwheel Inn
Ranked #4 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“UK tour 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice friendly owners (Kernow the dog too) we stayed 2 nights. Excellent accommodation, food! breakfast superb! dinner amazing specials board has a wide selection. Beer selection very nice tried some local ones too, even a local cider a nice local lager too. Mark & Francesca have made great progress in the 2 1/2 years they have been here. we wish them luck for the future

Room Tip: Fitness centre is the lovely Cornwall country side, lots of excellent walks local
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamby001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    97
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
93
294
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Major contenders for hard-working couple of the year, Mark & Francesca are managing to not only run a friendly yet efficient B&B but also to carry out extensive works to the (lovely) garden in their spare (!?!) time. The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated, the food is absolutely first class and the welcome is second to none. A wander down the garden to see the well and druid chair is highly recommended. We had a fabulous time in Cornwall and this was down in no small part to our stay at the Waterwheel and would recommend it without hesitation. Thank you Mark & Francesca.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the garden, which was lovely. I think all rooms will probably experience n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumps33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We noticed on arrival that signage in the entrance stated `Arrive as guests and leave as friends` , this is true.
Mark and Francesca are excellent hosts,the bed clean and comfortable, there was a good choice of breakfast with nothing to much trouble.The evening meals are freshly cooked to a high quality and good value.
Mark has built a terraced deck at the rear and was still building a pergola style structure,in his short spare time, it was nice to view his efforts each day.
This did not stop anyone enjoying the garden which is quite extensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north ayrshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

having to leave... Yes sad to say all good things must come to an end. We spent 7 glorious days here with Mark and Francesca, Kernow and of course Bailey. When did 7 days disappear into fewer? When you are enjoying yourself that's when. What a super place this is, run by 2 fantastically enthusiastic young people. Where on earth to they get the energy?

From the minute we arrived the Inn was run with endless efficiency, you were made to feel welcome from the minute you dropped off your luggage. Rooms are a delight with excellent views, bedding is beautiful with lots of wee personal touches. By the end of our stay we felt as though we belonged, like family and thoroughly at home.

It is a brilliant place to relax you into your day and a peaceful place to wind down after a busy day touring around the sights, places and sounds. Ideal it what is it. The grounds are gorgeous and given time could be a close contender for the Lost Gardens.... check out the druid chair and chapel. Me? I lost my fotos... pressed the wrong button, so will have to go back for more some time... hahaha there's method in my madness!.

Now as for the eating part of our stay.... breakfast was all and more, Mark you are a gem and Francesca well ... fabulous... your omelettes... to die for. Dining in at night was a taste sensation with Chris and Mark on kitchen duties. Hard to think what my most favourite was but I will share with you is their home made lemon posset which surely is the very best you will ever taste.

Oh Mark and Francesca you have no idea how much I hated to leave and honestly I was almost in tears when we said ciao! So look forward to visiting again. Both Bill and I so enjoyed our stay at the Waterwheel Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loulouNorthAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to the waterwheel for a meal out , when we got there we said wow , the waterwheel was friendly and very welcoming on arrival . The meal was fantastic and cooked to very high qualilty, the atmosphere was very pleasent . Will return again we never stayed at b&b as we live close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesalisavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stopped here for 2 nights to visit the Eden Project on the way back to Sussex from Penzance. The hotel is pleasantly situated and easily located. As it is also a restaurant the food was of very good quality and freshly prepared. The welcome was very friendly and helpful. The owners are grdaully refurbishing the grounds, which is a large project, but a walk down the garden is well worth the effort. The room we had was comfortable but a little on the small side but fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrantPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The informal and friendly atmosphere was delightful and our hosts worked extremely hard to make it so. Delicious cooked breakfasts and evening meals that were high quality and good value. Situated in beautiful surroundings and very handy for the Eden Project, the Lost Gardens of Heligan and many pretty small Cornish villages, we would highly recommend a visit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarknJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Property: The Waterwheel Inn
Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our fourteen en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing