We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterwheel Inn
Ranked #3 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A 'good morning' would have helped. The owners, I think, were exhausted and had little time for the guests. They were more interested in renovating the garden area. Because of the lack of any interaction we didn't eat there although the menu looked ok.
I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

In the spirit of my Grandmother who used to say "If you have nothing nice to say then don't say it", thank you for your final comment - we much appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 517 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked the Waterwheel Inn to stay as it was close to both the Eden Project and Heligan Gardens. We were not disappointed in any way, the place is a hidden diamond. The room we stayed in has just been refurbished and was spotlessly clean. Fresh towels were laid out on the bed with complimentary shower gels and shampoo. There was a delightful tea box on the windowsill which was full of teabags, coffee, sugar and milks. All branded products too!
We had our evening meal in the restaurant which wouldn't have been out of place in a top London setting. Superb decor with exposed stone walls, modern wood flooring and up to date comfortable leather chairs.
The food was just excellent, well cooked and plentiful too. The cost was very affordable to boot.
Breakfast which was included in the price again was plentiful and included full english ,cereals, fruit and fruit juice. Absolute bargain i reckon.
The next time we visit Cornwall we will be booking to stay here every time without fail.
Thank you Francesca for a warm welcoming well looked after stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We so much enjoy sharing this wonderful place with such appreciative guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We love cats, so were so pleased to see a gorgeous cat and lovely dog in residence. The location was great, 10 minutes' walk into town and then bus to the Eden Project. Francesca was exceedingly welcoming, the breakfasts wonderful. Dinner was great. We had a love/hate relationship with the stick-out metal bedstead which we knocked our hips on until we got used to its presence(rooms are very small), and the very loud bathroom extractor fans from other rooms were abrasive awakenings from our slumbers. Great value though, and plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank absg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

a nice family run b and b in a great location just outside St Austell.Easily missed as signage not too brilliant .a lovely conservatory room for breakfast and great value for money.I would say the rooms are quite small but very clean.
The shower was small but efficient.
I didn't experience dinner as we ventured out to Mevagissey nearby although the restaurant looked Ok ,we preferred to eat off site purely because we wanted to have a sea view over dinner.
Downside, is the wretched cat, over friendly it bounded on the breakfast table and proceeded to lick the butter dish and milk laid out before anyone could stop it.Some people may find that acceptable, I do not.
I don't mind animals in the common parts and had read about the cat and dog before I booked but it really should be kept out at meal times if it cant be controlled.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Arrived on Thursday and met by very cheerful and pleasant proprietor, Francesca. Given a tour of premises and told about garden ( it was raining heavily at the time).
Escorted to our room and told if there was anything we wanted just to call in the bar.
We stayed 3 nights and ate in every night. The food was superb. They have a resident chef and Mark does a "mean" breakfast, You won't need to eat between breakfast and evening meal believe you me!. The dining room was clean and comfortable and the food was excellent value for money. The bar was well decorated with nice relaxing sofas and surprisingly the bar prices were reasonable.
Our room was quite spacious, again well decorated and clean. The only moan I would have here is that we were near to the entrance and other guests were rather noisy when congregating early one morning in the entrance- but that's not the proprietors fault.
We did get to roam through the gardens which both Mark and Francesca are working hard at developing as a longer term project obviously prioritising the accomodation first.
This couple have only been here for two years and have worked hard to improve the premises and facilities. On the evidence of what we experienced this is already a well sought after venue and will continue to be so.
It is an ideal base to travel out and about to see the best of Cornwall
Mark and Francesca were fabulous hosts. We wish them every success for the future and are looking forward to returning

Room Tip: Room No 8 is near the entrance which can on occasions be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 5 enjoyable nights here (room 2) as the previous reviewer the plumbing was extremly loud,(sorry its the autopilot at 5am!, eyes closed flushed and realized!)
however we did speak to Mark about the dodgy flush who hadnet been aware of it,
the garden was nice and it lead straight to a long walk up into the wood which our dog enjoyed,
The location was very good with the Eden project being 10min away,
However the best part - THE FOOD, every meal was brilliant,I stay away for work way too much accross the UK and europe and have never had meal after meal thats been so good!
would love to stay here again and if i am working in the area i will be making a beeline for this place over the much more expensive chain hotel the company books me into,

Room Tip: The room 2 suffered a little from road noise but its only in the early evening and peak times, its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This cozy little B&B is a great base from which to explore the nearby Eden Project and the Gardens of Heligan. The rooms are pretty, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are a little small but this wasn't a problem.

Breakfast is one of the best I've ever had anywhere- from full English to continental toasts and teas, you can choose what you want. My partner and I ate here in the evenings as well- the selection of food was more than adequate and the desserts were delicious.

The B&B has the added benefit of a beautiful ginger cat who will come and say hello to you- perfect for cat lovers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 9 in St Austell
398 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,629 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Chapel Guest House
The Chapel Guest House
#9 of 97 in St Austell
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $96 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our fourteen en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing