We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant”
Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterwheel Inn
Ranked #4 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We did not stay here, but we ate here for two nights. It was excellent, good choice, good presentation, and very very good food. The staff were very professional and extremely friendly and we will return on our next visit to Cornwall. Many thanks.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MarinaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 508 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked very last minute stayed for one night and they managed to make up the room for us at short notice. The room we stayed in was clean and tidy, it had been recently refurbished to a good standard with new carpets. Clean fresh linen sheets, thick deep towels and a new flat sceen TV. We stayed for dinner and couldn't fault the food - very tasty and generous portions. Outside there is a garden and woodlands with an interesting ruin and a waterfall from the stream that runs down from the Waterwheel Inn - makes a very pleasant walk. The staff are very hardworking, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Waterwheel is beautifully situated in a very convenient location for the Eden Project. The gardens are wonderful with a babbling brook and masses of trees and greenery. I almost regretted paying to visit the jungle at the Lost Gardens of Heligan before arriving as the back garden is almost as impressive. The owners are working hard to turn the Waterwheel into a very desirable place to stay. There are still some aspects which are not yet up to their desired high standards but they appreciate this and ask for patience while they work on improving everything. The conservatory is an excellent addition and creates a bright airy place to eat breakfast although it is hard to resist the temptation to wander outside and explore while waiting for breakfast to arrive. The bedrooms are delightful, the parking is good and the wifi works. My friends asked me afterwards why we couldn't have stayed here longer as they loved the Waterwheel so much. One night in St Austell was probably enough but I'd certainly consider the Waterwheel for a romantic weekend break as the dinner menu in the restaurant looked very appetising.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunkbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A delightful stay due to Mark and Francesca! Warm welcome, calm, genuine, sociable, we were well cared for. This couple are working extremely hard to revitalise this historic building, which they are doing sympathetically, retaining its quaintness. Lovely art work dotted around. The Woodland is DIRECTLY behind the Inn. Could be viewed from our windows, also restaurant and conservatory looked out onto the woodland, delightful! Bedroom completely satisfactory, bed linen clean, duvet and pillows excellent, rooms cleaned and tidied daily. Information pack in room re attractions. Shower and toilet clean, water hot. Francesca bought afternoon tea out to us and settled my friend and I in the sun, when we returned from a trip. Food delicious, thanks to chef and relish with my pate was lovely. Thank You so much. Polly G

Room Tip: Ask for a woodland view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A little lonely and do not stay in room 6 if you plan to go to bed early. it's above the kitchen, and noisy. In response to questioning the noise we were told "well we are a restaurant'". No comment. you can walk into town but there is not much to see.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon_Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I are a mature couple who have stayed at many hotels over the years and this is the first time we have found it necessary to make a public comment. On a weeks break staying at several similar priced hotels in Devon and Cornwall with very pleasant experiences we arrived at The Waterwheel Inn. The room we were allocated was not like those shown on the website and was small and basic. The shower did not work and a substantial amount of the grout around the tiles was mouldy. In responding to a complaint we made the response was thus "I agree there is some deeply embedded mould within the silicone but both the bathroom and bedroom would have been immaculately clean" It seems mould is acceptable. The food was acceptable but the overall experience was poor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank raymondp454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

The first we knew of this gentleman's concerns regarding his room on his recent one night stay was when we received a letter requesting a partial refund on the basis that the room was 'small and basic' the shower did not work and there was mould in the shower cubicle.
I have declined the refund on the basis that although his room was not large it was certainly an adequate size for a double. It has been refurbished in April and has new walls, carpet curtains etc. The new duvet is goose feather and down as are the pillows, the towels are 550gm hotel quality bath sheets and the sheets are 100% quality white cotton therefore not what I would call basic. The shower has been used subsequently by a further 8 couples and no-one has complained that the shower has not worked and it certainly worked on testing.
The en-suite will be completely refitted in November which will address the silicone issue but the room and bathroom were immaculately clean.
The price for a room is not just based on the size of a room but on other factors such as location and the other facilities we offer such as the opportunity to dine in an elegant restaurant and conservatory in an historic building overlooking a beautiful wooded valley beside an equally beautiful river. We have had many comments from other visitors suggesting that we represent very good value for the money.
I am sad that this couple did not enjoy their experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

After reading some of the fairly negative reviews of this establishment I'm left wondering if they actually stayed at the same place as my wife and I although that's not to say there aren't some minor niggles. Firstly the location is great, nestling at the bottom of a wooded ravine with the stream adjacent. Although situated on a fairly busy road it is not at all intrusive. We found the hosts Mark & Francesca to be friendly and sociable even though Mark when not seeing to guests needs was busy in the garden building a large new decking area which I believe will be a great addition to the property when completed. We found the restaurant meals/service to be excellent and the lounge/bar area a nice place to relax with a pint or two. On the down side, the room we were allocated had a good en-suite and although nicely refurbished was fitted with fairly basic furniture but by far my biggest gripe would be the entry doors to the rooms. Although a minor thing in the scheme of things whenever you entered the room it felt as though you were entering a cupboard or something - I think this is something that should be made a priority Mark. I also feel it would have been nice to have been asked if we required any assistance with our luggage as there are stairs to negotiate.
Overall though, a very pleasant stay in a nice area at reasonable cost.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems there is only 1 ground floor room available and so I advise booking ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_natural_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,594 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
511 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.3 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: $97 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our fourteen en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing