We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Waterwheel Inn”
Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterwheel Inn
Ranked #4 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay at Waterwheel Inn”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

First impression on arrival into the Hotel was that the floor needed a good hoover. Friendly host greeted us, showed us to our room. We were very dissapointed with the room, the bed knobs kept falling off the bedstead whenever you walked past. The bed sheets were dirty, looked like they hadn't been changed, makeup marks on the pillow case. We had a nice view of the garden, and breakfast was very good, the only thing letting this Hotel down badly was the cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melap00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
I am sorry that this guest was disappointed with the standard of cleanliness; the foyer has a navy blue carpet which does get vacuumed once a day but unfortunately with tradesmen and guests traipsing through it looks clean for about five minutes.
I am flabbergasted that if this guest believed we had not changed the bedding that a) she did not bring this to our attention and b) that she would even consider sleeping in it! I would not consider sleeping in dirty linen and I am appalled that she could believe we would expect someone else to. As it is, the room, which is prettily decorated with Laura Ashley duck egg blue curtains and paint has white 100% cotton bedding edged in blue. One of the pillow cases has a faint grey mark on it caused by waterproof mascara and this has been resistant to attempts to remove it completely. I have now asked the laundry service to hit it with potent chemicals but they think it will ruin the blue edging which is such a shame. The sheets were not dirty!
The bed is cream wrought iron and yes, the bedknobs do fall off, I am sorry that this caused our guests irritation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    100
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
95
299
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Rick and i have just spent 6 nights at this lovely hotel, Mark and Francesca are fantastic hosts, the staff are very polite and help full, Sam the waitress is just a laugh. the rooms are very comfortable and clean, the food is just fantastic.the bar and restaurant are very relaxed. rick and i will be returning back to this wonderfull hotel as soon as possible. good luck to mark and francesca in all their future projects.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

To be honest: the first impression was a bit disappointing. The impression I got from the website was that the Inn was actually situated in a wooded valley and I imagined a quiet place in a forest....In fact it is situated directly next to a rather busy road. Our room had a view over the parking lot and there was a good bit of traffic noise.
However, there is a lovely garden on the other side of the property and we had a nice little walk to the well. Breakfast was in the conservatory, overlooking the garden. Nice.
Room was fine. Couldn't get the shower to work properly, meaning that the last person to shower had only cold water - but that might have been due to our unfamiliarity with the British hot water system.

In all, I would say "good" (not "very good"- but it is definitely above average).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to the parking lot and the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterres12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked for a week at The Waterwheel. My first impressions were fantastic, a beautiful building, a fantastic host in Francesca, she is a very friendly person. The bar area is very restful and welcoming. Our room was smallish but adequate, very clean, lovely paintings on the walls, a lovely view of the trees and the sound of the river beside the inn. The shower-room was lovely and clean with beautiful soft towels, so welcome as in other places the towels were not as soft. Francesca made sure we knew where everything is and encouraged us to enjoy the conservatory and the garden, explaining about the Menacuddle well and Druid's Chair down the garden. We met Mark when we came down for dinner, again like Francesca, he was very welcoming, a little quieter but they compliment each other. We enjoyed a beautiful, very filling meal in the restaurant washed down by several glasses of the house white (hic). Everything was freshly cooked, such a welcome change. Breakfast was excellent, large enough to set us up for the day. Through the course of the week it was lovely to chop and change our breakfast, from boiled eggs to a special breakfast on my partners birthday.
The staff were equally friendly particularly Sam, I don't know where she gets her energy from. We also got to meet the inn's cat Bailey and the puppy Kernow. The inn has a very cheerful feel about it.
As the week went on I felt as though the whole ambience remained as each time we saw Francesca and Mark they were good company. Francesca listened when I commented on the fact that the chef did not know how to poach eggs, but that is such a minor complaint as the rest of his cooking was excellent, well done Chris.
It was lovely hearing about the plans for the garden and look forward to seeing them finished.
My first impressions did not change through the week and I cannot thank Francesca, Mark and their staff enough for such a lovely welcoming break. We will return next year.

Written by Julie Haycock for her visit with Mike Gorringe

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at the waterwheel for one night as it is convenient to the Eden project. We arrived to a very offhand welcome - the lady harassed and distracted and the gentleman basically unfriendly. Our room was pleasant and clean with some road noise but nothing that couldn't be mistaken for a rushing stream!
We walked into St Austell (longer than ten minutes) and found it closed and not very interesting. We had been warned of this by our hostess, so returned for dinner at the waterwheel.
Dinner was a pleasant surprise, very enjoyable and generous portions.
After that breakfast was a bit disappointing - weird tasting cheap orange juice and a very average fry up served by our unsmiling host. A young girl who works there seemed to have a much better manner - friendly and helpful to everyone in the breakfast room.
On the plus side, the gardens are pretty, there's a gorgeous ginger cat and the cost is reasonable.
On leaving our hostess became more chatty and asked us where we were off to. When I said we were going down to Penzance she said we would enjoy it there in the 'better' part of cornwall! Like I said - odd.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor corner room and had no neighbour noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here for the Jubilee bank holiday and found a little gem.On meeting the owners you can see that their plans for this inn and restaurant, show that this will be the place to stay in St. Austell.The ground floor (bar/restaurant and conservatory) are now areas where you can relax and enjoy everything from an excellent breakfast that sets you up for the day, to a restaurant serving top class food at affordable prices.The bedroom was spotlessly clean and definitely comfortable enough for a good nights rest.This is a place we will be returning to on our next trip to Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

the inside is modern and welcoming and the rooms are lovely and quiet - a good evening meal can be had the food is excellent quality and choice but without the expensive price tag. The owners are friendly and i will be going back - Eden Project, Gardens and National Trust properties on the doorstep. Also good parking and easy to find

Room Tip: A good base for cornwall attractions :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A13J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
363 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.0 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Property: The Waterwheel Inn
Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our fourteen en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing