We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was February....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterwheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterwheel Inn
Ranked #3 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“It was February....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

February in Cornwall, rain, fog, cold, miserable....sounds like a recipe for disaster. However, if you can spend all day with a paint brush and then wait on tables all evening and keep a smile and an air of jollity then you may understand how this establishment works. True, it is obviously work in progress; true, it is somebody's dreams and ambitions, but what they have achieved so far is commendable.
Our room was clean and simply but tastefully decorated, with a very pleasant view over the garden which would have been a delight to explore had the weather been more clement. Our en suite bathroom was indeed compact, which may not suit everyone, but was adequate for the purpose and clean. True, there may be the odd little grumble such as only one tiny tablet of soap provided and no chair in the room, but it's not because the hosts are not caring but simply that they cannot do everything at once and are obviously working very hard.

We stayed for 3 nights and ate here each evening. We were very impressed with the standard of food and its presentation. Of particular note to us was the whitebait, excellent!
It is obvious a lot of effort is being made to improve the Waterwheel Inn and if it all comes to fruition, we may have to book well in advance! We wish them well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    98
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
93
296
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights for a working trip. Mark & Francesca were very welcoming and accommodating during my stay. No complaints about my room or the Inn itself. Clean tidy and warm. The recently redecorated dining area is superb as is the food. The set meal was excellent. The mixed grill was amazing. Very happy with the food! I didn't see much of the garden or surrounding area but I would image it will be beautiful summertime. Looks as though the owners have made some great improvements since being there and seem to be working hard in other areas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tco333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights over the recent bank holiday, with my wife and son, we had the triple room which was very clean and comfortable.
As we were visiting family in the area we only eat breakfast which was very good, my teenage son didnt make it down one morning, but Francesca very kindly made him a Bacon Sandwich to take back to the room which was great.
We had a sneaky look at one of the refurbished rooms which I would would book when revisiting the area.
The position is excellent as was the value for money the Waterwheel offered, thanks Mark and Francesca

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AshbyBaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The food was amazing and 3 coarses for £14.95! The owners have only had the hotel for a short amount of time so a bit of work was going on. The rooms were basic but clean. The staff were very friendly. I'd definatly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MetalGangsta_Dave-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Arriving here is a strange experience - the carpets smell damp and musty as you walk through the door, the welcome was decidedly lukewarm as I was shown to my room, the dinner was mediocre and extremely expensive for what I got, but more than anything was the room -
the bed linen was dirty, the shower/loo was shabby and unclean and the room smelt. Worst of all was the partition wall between my room and next door as it was so thin I could hear the man next door breathing, never mind snoring and the conversations from next door, made in whispers were clearly heard, even with the TV on in my room.
Plus side the bed was firm and comfortable, but I was woken at 5am with the noise of the road, which was right next to the room window and busy, so didn't get much sleep.
Breakfast was not good with the sausages under cooked, the eggs over done and not much on offer.
I really do not think the owners are meant for work in the service industry, particularly Mark, who just seemed to be uncomfortable - there were no smiles and although polite, kept communications to a minimum with all the guests.
A horrible experience all round.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flabbergastme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frithsoken, Owner at The Waterwheel Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
The hardest thing working in this service industry is not that it is seven days a week or that the working day is long or that it is physically challenging, it is actually the occasional reviews like this that hurt and are difficult not to take to heart. I disagree that we should not be in the service industry, in that the reason these comments hurt so much is that we care. It is bizarre that peoples experiences of the same place can be so different. Previous comments such as ‘room excellent’, ‘our room was clean’, ‘The room was spotless’, ‘clean and comfortable room’ refute the suggestions of the room being unclean and there is no way that the bed linen can be dirty as they are all professionally laundered and have been described as ‘clean and crisp’.
The evening meals and breakfasts have recently been described as ‘excellent’, ‘fantastic’ and ‘terrific value for money’. At breakfast we have six varieties of cereal, toast, a full English with eight items including premium bacon and large free range eggs, which can be also poached or scrambled. I don’t see this as ‘not much on offer’.
As part of the renovations planned for this winter we will be incorporating additional sound insulation into the walls of the bedrooms and the rooms will all be decorated to a high standard.
When people check out they are always asked if everything has been OK for them, it is somewhat amazing therefore that with so much to complain about they mentioned none of this at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Resturant excellent, room excellent (this was on of the rooms that had not been renvoated) very friendly people. They had only been at the waterwheel inn for 4 months and were doing really well with the renovations look forwarded to returning in 12 months to see the finished product.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mchengland70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife is vegan and I am vegetarian. The chef (Angela) certainly went the extra mile to accommodate us. The evening meals were fantastic, three courses for £14.95., excellent value for money. The owners, Mark and Francesca made us feel very welcome. Overall terrific value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. NicAlthough our room faced the main road, once the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Inn

Property: The Waterwheel Inn
Address: Bodmin Road | Trethowel, St Austell PL25 5RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterwheel is situated in a wooded valley beside a river. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in our fourteen en-suite bedrooms. In the evenings guests can have a drink in the licensed bar and eat in the on-site elegant restaurant, or a 10 minute brisk walk will take them into St Austell town centre. There is a delightful terrace and garden to explore and an ancient well, Druid's chair and waterfall at the bottom of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Hotel St Austell
The Waterwheel Inn St Austell, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing