We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect tree top retreat so secluded and peaceful.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chy Mena

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Agnes, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jarredfam...
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect tree top retreat so secluded and peaceful.”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week at the start of the summer holidays, having glamped for several years with children it was a very welcome change to have a gorgeous big lodge with a tv in every room, a powerful shower and a kitchen. The technology is quite impressive, mood lighting and a gorgeous BIG hot tub. Great value quite frankly .

The beds are all comfortable too and as a side sleeper that is not often the case.

The contemporary styling was practical as well as good to look at.

The climb up to the lodge is not for the feint hearted or those with mobility issues, but well worth it as you are then at tree level with complete privacy and can sit on the decking or in the hot tub with a glass of fizz and you could be anywhere - total bliss.

If anything does happen - we had a warning light on the hot tub as the water level had dropped - the owner is on hand, responds straight away and sorts issues out with no fuss.

The lodge is well equipped and I truly miss the speed of the convection electric cooker ! Yes there could be more glasses but these are the hardest to keep on top off and probably the most often replaced.

I would recommend this for families in school holidays and also couples looking for an off season romantic break. The lodge is very warm and cosy when cold and great for storm watching being so high up.

The local beach is great for surfing and rock pooling and quieter than nearby Perranporth. The fact you can walk to an amazing pub, local brewery take away shop and a great chippy are just the icing on the cake. One of the even closer tea shops also does sundown cocktails. The village centre and the beach are both an easy walking distance.

We have already rebooked both lodges for next year and are taking more family with us next time.

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimac654...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful place”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Chy Mena is a great place to stay in St Agnes.
It is very modern and uncluttered, with smart TV's and good wi fi.
The hot tub is fab, and St Agnes is a great wee village with lots of great pubs, beaches, walks etc.
We will be back.
Thanks, Simon.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari683...
1 review
“Great location.”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely location very private. The lodge was very comfortable and everything that you could want we really enjoyed our holiday and would happily stay there's again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate it and we are glad you had a great holiday. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tenerfie2...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent lodge”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just returned from a week long stay at Chy Mena. The lodge itself is excellent, very spacious and with all mod cons. It's within walking distance of everything within St Agnes but yet feels very peaceful and quiet, the outside area is also not overlooked and gets the sunshine all day. We will definitely be returning in the future. The owner was easily contactable both before and during our stay and was quick to respond to any questions we had.

Date of stay: September 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Many thanks for the kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Glad you had a nice stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon b
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Chy Mena had everything we needed for our weeks self catering holiday in Cornwall,It was clean, modern and within walking distance from pubs restaurants the beach and the SW coastal path, whilst also being well located to explore other areas of Cornwall.
The decking area and Hot tub were great for relaxing after a busy day.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thanks for the kind words. Glad you had a nice holiday and hope to see you again! Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJH1312
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Ideally located, well designed, comfortable 2 bedroomed lodge close to St Agnes centre and local beach”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The directions and welcome pack were informative and helpful.
Chy Mena is situated in a quiet spot just off St Agnes Centre and well positioned for pubs, the beach and local walks.
The Eco Lodge is well designed, pleasing on the eye and has all mod cons. Very comfortable bedrooms. Lovely spacious decking at the front.
Thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Many thanks for the review. Much appreciated. Glad you had a nice stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing