We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Sunday supper in elegant surroundings”
Review of China Palace

China Palace
Ranked #19 of 27 Restaurants in St Agnes
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet Sunday supper in elegant surroundings”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We received a gracious welcome and considerate service. This
restaurant has stylish and restrained décor, pleasant to be in.
Our meal was nicely served and well-cooked, fresh and good.
A pleasant evening, and good value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    9
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were on holiday and after the other places full decided to get a takeaway. A bit
Worried after the reviews. However we has an excellent meal and really enjoyed it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great Chinese takeaway”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Visit a couple of times every time we are in Cornwall. Never used the restaurant, always had takeaway.
Tried various dishes loved the mushroom fried rice, special chow mein crispy lamb(lots of lamb need more pancakes)
Good portions, excellent flavours, bit dearer than I pay at home but worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Horrible, greasy, reheated food. The meat was like rubber and the sauces werr oily and a very un natural colour. Everything tasted really sweet.

Helpful?
1 Thank SteveCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great again”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This family run business produces great food. I have worked in the catering trade for 20 years and this is the best Chinese restaurant I have come across in England. The waitress is lovely, attentive but not intrusive, the food is always to a high standard. All set in pretty village of St Agnes.

A must try is the chicken satay and the Kung Po chicken. The satay is rich and peanuty with spicy tones, and the Kung Po is sweet first with a chili bite after. The sides are great to, perfect rice and noodles to soak up the great sauces. Myself and partner have visited many times and already planning the next time we travel the 70 mile round trip to eat there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Damionoxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

St Agnes, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 
St Agnes, Truro District
 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing