We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it was with the old owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of St Agnes Meadery - CLOSED

St Agnes Meadery
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are an independent meadery who specialise in steaks, homemade burgers and a wide variety of vegetarian options
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Not as good as it was with the old owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Walking in , being shown straight away to a table , getting the drinks orders done and the service was excellent and hasn't changed a bit .Sadly the reason we go to the meadery is for the food , my particulate favourite was the Tempura prawns , chips and salad ,but sadly this is where it all went horribly wrong , now being honest the food was ok and cooked well but sadly not a patch on what it use to be , none of m old favourite was the same , not even the chips or even the salad . The food was overpriced in my opinion for the quality of it . Sadly for me this was end of an era , My old favourite and a place we returned to for birthdays and special occasions for many many past years is no longer . We will not be returning .
I will say it again , the staff and service is still at its best .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    5
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The food came out within 5 minutes & tasted like cardboard. Why cant they cook fresh local produce from local shops instead of cheap frozen food. They will lose all local customers if this rubbish continues!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelpuls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What have they done”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Been going to this restaurant for over twenty years and will not be returning. The menu has been extended, but the food quality has been vastly damaged. The food was terrible...

Helpful?
2 Thank leevallence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Change, not for the better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We have often gone to the meadery as a treat and really enjoyed it. But i regret to say we will not be going again any time soon. We ordered the food and drinks; the food appeared immediately ...before even the drinks. Nothing tasted fresh or cooked to order . It tasted like it had been sitting on a hot plate for hours. The chips were barely edible. The menu is larger but the quality i fear has really suffered.

Helpful?
3 Thank Kevinsm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were a little concerned when the place was sold that vast changes would be afoot and my 16 year old would be very disappointed if the Ribs changed... very particular to Ribs and the Meadery ribs in particular!

Staff always friendly, shame it doesn't open more often in the winter - we would have gone on another night if it had been open.

Liked the additions to the menu - burgers and steaks - great additions. 4 of us this time and none of us were disappointed. Portions still v.large!

Would go again - and will next time we are in St. Agnes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Agnes Meadery also viewed

St Agnes, Truro District
St Agnes, Truro District
 
St Agnes, Truro District
 
St Agnes, Truro District
St Agnes, Truro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing