We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ever”

The Cornish Pizza Company
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Multi award winning, take away pizza. Made daily from organic flour and hand-stretched to order, with homemade tomato sauce and locally sourced toppings. Fresh deli items and local ice-cream also sold and a range of Cornish and Italian wine, beer, cider and soft drinks.
St Agnes
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My experience of take away Pizza in the UK can be summed up as “dire”, so when I was reluctantly dragged to the Cornish Pizza in St Agnes I expected the same.
Compared to what’s on offer in Mediterranean France or Italy British take away Pizza is, in my opinion inedible. The main culprit is often as follows:

Cheap massed produced bought in bases, or, bases a half inch thick or more of stodge, with barely any topping. Cheap often-tinned toppings for example tomato puree spread as if it’s sauce. Also, what is, I think, the worst offence, cheap and nasty cheddar type cheese instead of Mozzarella. All of which make an unappetizing soggy mess, swimming in grease, to be avoided at all costs.

The Cornish Pizza was none of these things, thin crispy bases, tasty toppings, and unexpectedly, fresh not tinned anchovies!! A welcome surprise, I’ll go again. The Pizzas aren’t cheap, but quality has to be paid for and I can’t recall having a take away pizza as good as this, highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth Ln n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiCW, Owner at The Cornish Pizza Company, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi Kenneth,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your recent visit.

We are pretty obsessive about our fresh pizza dough and ingredients, including 100% mozzarella cheese and fresh anchovies of course!

We are delighted you enjoyed our pizzas so much and we hope to see you again soon at The Cornish Pizza Company.

Best wishes, Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    37
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great tasting pizzas that disappoints.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I have to say the taste of the pizzas is great and it's obvious that top notch ingredients are used. The pepperoni is amazing!!!

However a pizza with 5 bits of pepperoni and mushrooms thrown on just over one slice isn't really acceptable. Shame, more toppings and 2 minutes more in the oven and they would be perfect!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claireym2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiCW, Owner at The Cornish Pizza Company, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
hi
Many thanks for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent experience here.

From the sound of your description I would guess you ordered the Wheal Busy, our take on the classic four seasons pizza. We've designed the pizza so each quarter of the pizza represents a season: one quarter has mushrooms, one has pepperoni, one has anchovies and one is plain. Plus there are capers and black olives across all the pizza.

Based on your feedback, I agree that, unless you have the pizza design explained by one of our team, that you might think just putting mushrooms and so on on one quarter is a bit mean. Certainly that is not our intention. As you very kindly say, we use the best quality, locally sourced ingredients, all our pizzas are made fresh to order and we make our doughs ourselves on the premises using organic flour every day.

I do hope you come back and give us another try. We will redesign this pizza based on your feedback to put all the toppings across the whole pizza, plus there are a lot of other ones to try that I am sure you will enjoy. Not least our new Christmas pizza with goats cheese, prosciutto, oranges, figs and seasonal spices including nutmeg, cumin and ground coriander.

Look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Best wishes, Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“So tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

St Agnes is a great little place on the coast of north Cornwall, with a lively local population, and many visitors - walkers, surfers, campers, caravanners, families who rent cottages in the area etc. We visited a couple of years ago and were surprised that although there are a number of good pubs and restaurants, there were no take-aways of any sort (bar chips). So it is great that this year we came across the friendly Cornish Pizza Company right in the centre of town. In line with the independent natutre of the village, this is far from being a chain restaurant serving up the same tired old formula : 4 cheeses, hawaiian jobs. The pizzas are excellent quality, made with top ingredients like organic flour; olivfes, tapenade, sun dried tomatoes, chorizo, and fresh herbs - there's a good choice, the garlic bread is historic and the price is reasonable.
They've only been going for a few months but seem to be going places: deliveries are on the agneda, plus a mobile kitchen. The proprietors have committed themselves to life in the village and I think this place will be around for a long time to come. Well worth a detour!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth travelling for!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Me and my partner travelled from our town 10 miles away just to get a pizza from these guys! I had heard about them through twitter and tried them... Absolutely fantastic, we had a traditional pizza and a marinated chicken pizza with a garlic bread. All three were freshly made and used top quality ingredients! Something that I feel is lost in most pizzerias. Well done guys, we will be back again.

Lee and Sarah
Camborne

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Pizza outside of Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had 2 of the most delicious Pizzas last night from The Cornish Pizza Company, one chicken and one vegetarian, both excellent.
Full of all the right flavours, fabulous crispy base ( just as it should be) Will definitely be going back for more next week. Highly recommended, lovely fresh ingredients. Thank you Cornish Pizza Company.
Catrin

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catrin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornish Pizza Company also viewed

St Agnes, Truro District
St Agnes, Truro District
 
St Agnes, Truro District
St Agnes, Truro District
 
St Agnes, Truro District
 

Been to The Cornish Pizza Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing