We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beacon Country House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
sutton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beacon Country House Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxed, small hotel in Cornwall, this is the place for you. Situated on the side of The Beacon this family run hotel is small and quiet with lovely veiws of the surrounding countryside. The hotel is basic but very clean and comfortable. The food served for breakfast and evening meal (if required) is like home cooking and very enjoyable.
The family that run the hotel are delightful. They made us very welcome and were happy to deal with any request. From the moment we arrived, we felt as though this family were long lost friends. We had a lovely stay at this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
Thankyou John and family ---- you were all great! We would most definatley stay again if in area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6. Lovely room with great view. Lovely bathroom with walk in shower. The power sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
95
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Brilliant and Friendly Owners,
John Lorena and Andrew excellent in making myself and my wife very welcome.
Hotel spotlessly clean, very relaxing location food outstanding and very well presented ,thank you John Lorena and Andrew for a great holiday, looking forward to staying at the Beacon Country house hotel the next time we visit Cornwall.
Patrick and Florence Oswald

Room Tip: Room seven very good view and quiet a large double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
279 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The owners of this bright and airy hotel are very friendly and make one feel that no request is too large to handle. It is in a good location with what would seem to be enough parking, but we encountered a problem and had to have someone move a car so we could park. The room was smaller than most we have encountered, and the walls are very thin. We could hear people next door talking, flushing the toilet, even flipping the light switch at night and in the early morning. There are good electrical outlets and lighting as well as bar soap. The wi-fi speed varies a lot, and there is poor mobile reception. The bathroom has very limited shelf space, and the bed was a double, smaller than many small hotels offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N W England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

An excellent stay! Efficient and friendly hosts, who went way beyond the call of duty to make our family weekend (a wedding and a birthday) so special. A delightful venue; excellently maintained, with very comfortable, well equipped, bedrooms and delicious food. John and Lorena have a 'can do' approach, always remaining calm and cheerful towards guests, to the extent of helping us with a wedding 'catering hitch' that was not even at the hotel!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very friendly owners who were willing to go beyond the call of duty to make your stay even better. I was there to do some photography, so led unsociable hours, yet I was still well looked after. They gave me supper early so I could go out for sunset and even put some wine in my room for when I got back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a very enjoyable short break at the Beacon Country House Hotel in St Agnes, Cornwall, in between New Quay and St Ives last week. We were in room 2 a twin bedded room, which was tastefully furnished, bright and airy, comfortable beds and an immaculate en-suite. It also had wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. John and his wife (forgive me please I have forgotten how to spell your name) made us extremely welcome, nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the south side facing the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Where do i start ?. Every thing was first class,from the rooms ,food, price, and warm welcome, if every hotel in england was run like this, we would be the holiday capital of europe.thank you for a brilliant stay, PS we have booked again for next september.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericwelch186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.9 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
0.5 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rosemundy House Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Country House Hotel

Property: Beacon Country House Hotel
Address: Goonvrea Road, St Agnes TR5 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Country Hotel
Beacon Country House Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing