We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a very enjoyable short break at the Beacon Country House Hotel in St Agnes, Cornwall, in between New Quay and St Ives last week. We were in room 2 a twin bedded room, which was tastefully furnished, bright and airy, comfortable beds and an immaculate en-suite. It also had wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. John and his wife (forgive me please I have forgotten how to spell your name) made us extremely welcome, nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the south side facing the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Where do i start ?. Every thing was first class,from the rooms ,food, price, and warm welcome, if every hotel in england was run like this, we would be the holiday capital of europe.thank you for a brilliant stay, PS we have booked again for next september.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericwelch186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very warm welcome from the owners and their family

Lovely tranquil location just a short hop from the village

Ample food

Nothing too much trouble - the owners son even helped us get discount at a local golf club

Be sure to walk to the Beacon and take in the views

We will be back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

You will not find a warmer welcome in Cornwall - or anywhere else in the world for that matter! This is the perfect place to unwind and see the Cornish countryside. The rooms are immaculate and have amazing views. The food is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. These people have got it all "spot on". Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It is rare for me to take the time to write a review but having just returned home from staying at the Beacon I needed to let the readers know what a FANTASTIC place this is.
The rooms are absolutely lovely,the food is brilliant and the hosts are the most friendly and helpful people you are ever likely to meet.
It is in a perfect position for trips out to visit the delights of Cornwall and if you like to take walks out the scenery is breathtaking.
It is a family run hotel John,Lorena, Joanne and Andrew all work hard to ensure that their guests have a wonderful experience.
It is a rare these days to find a place that ticks all the boxes as the Beacon does.
A very big thank you to you all for making our stay FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I will admit up front the owners are friends of mine but you won't stay in a friendlier place in the whole of Cornwall! Rooms are spotless, the breakfasts gorgeous and John and lorena, Jo and Paul and Andrew are fantastic hosts. A great spot for cliff top walks and sea side fun, you'll find your marbles again which you may have lost during the rat race!! Beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in 2012 while walking the coast path and have since been back for another 2 visits this year. The hosts are extremely friendly, the food delicious and the rooms lovely. By the end of the third visit we felt more like friends than guests. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The large room at the front of the hotel has the best views and is large, but the two rooms we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
1 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
0.7 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
223 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,314 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Country House Hotel

Address: Goonvrea Road, St Agnes TR5 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > St Agnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Agnes
Price Range: $151 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly welcoming informal hotel where guests return time and time again to enjoy some proper Cornish hospitality! Offering elegant accommodation to unwind after a busy day exploring Cornwall. In an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the perfect place to explore the surrounding countryside and coastline. The stunning beach at Chapel Porth and dramatic cliff-top walks are less than a mile away as is the Coastal Foot Path.Explore the stunning areas where Poldark was filmed, one such area is exactly one mile away. Take in the stunning views from our restaurant, whilst our chef prepares dinner from the daily changing menu. Enjoy a drink from the bar, or take a stroll up to the top of St Agnes Beacon to watch the sun set from this 360 degree vantage point. We are happy to help with ideas, directions, the best pasty shops, the best vineyards or cider farm suggestions! We will go out of our way to help you and we hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Country Hotel
Beacon Country House Hotel St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing