We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping Policemen !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Taphouse

The Taphouse
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in St Agnes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sleeping Policemen !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely evening in the hands of the Tap House staff. Genuinely interested and passionate, they made the evening a delight. Good fresh food, huge portions, be warned !, gorgeous prawns. One criticism is the "Owner" keeps moving the tables ! So if you want to avoid the younger set by the 'Surf TV', you need to nominate a space and not a number of a table!!!. After a brief contretemps, we got the right table but in the wrong place ! hey ho.... It's not 'The Ivy'..... Lovely desserts as a birthday treat !. Go casual and in the mood for fun and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    77
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Laid back atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The relaxed atmosphere probably isn't true in the kitchens as the food is very good. Lots of local eat here so we got the last table on a Tuesday evening in early June. You will need to book if you want to be sure of meal here. The wine was very good at a reasonable price. My fishcakes were excellent. (We didn't have puds.)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanefromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for a chilled evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

As part of our works bash we were booked into the Tap House for dinner. There were quite a few of us but we were nicely accommodated over two tables. As an added bonus the first match of the World Cup was on quietly in the back ground. Beer was great and the food splendid and the service exemplary. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WEDDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

A great eating and drinking station with very good service and choice of food and drink. Would visit again if was in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BOWLER1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Busy, liveley and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Went here a couple of weeks ago with my brother and kids, so 6 of us in all. The service was quick and efficient without being rushed, the food was great, even if the starters are huge! Menu is pretty varied with lots of seafood, without being pretentious. Three of us steaks and they were cooked perfectly and everything else was great too. It's a really lively place, so best to book, definitely worth a try

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Taphouse also viewed

St Agnes, Truro District
St Agnes, Truro District
 
St Agnes, Truro District
 

Been to The Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing