We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best sleep ever”
Review of Cleaderscroft

Cleaderscroft
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Agnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cleaderscroft
Ranked #6 of 12 St Agnes B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the best sleep ever”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

cannot speak to highly of this hotel,everything perfect, bed and bedding to die for, breakfast perfect. very very clean. Hosts charming and warm and friendly. could ask for nothing more we will be going back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend while coming down to St. Agnes to visit friends.
Even though I was driving down from London and I wouldn't arrive till past 11pm this was not a problem with our marvellous hosts. The lady of the house was there to welcome us both in and show us to our room.
The room was fantastic with a very grand 4 poster bed and excellent decor. Only minor gripe was the shower. There wasn't much water pressure but this is only a very minor issue.
Breakfast served at standard times. The normal choice of cereal, fruit and yogurt, full English etc. all brought to you from the kitchen in which ever way you prefer. I must say the full English was cooked to perfection.
When you leave the B&B for any period of time you leave your room keys behind on a hook in a communal area. This is so the landlady knows that you are out and not to lock the front door. Coming from London there is a minor hesitation in doing this but then you remember where you are and it's no problem at all. There is no time limit as to when you have to return. The owners will stay up for as long as necessary till everyone is in, even if that is 5am, before they lock the front door.
Overall a very pleasent stay in St. Agnes and having this B&B to come back to made it that little bit better.
Thanks very much for having us.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have just returned after 3 nights at the Cleaderscroft. We were on our honeymoon and were greeted with a beautiful bunch of flowers in our lovely room. There was everything we needed, from toiletries, hairdryer etc. Everything was spotless and the breakfast couldn't have been better. We are looking forward to returning in the future. Thanks for a lovely stay xxx Sue & Peter

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

My husband, adult daughter, and I spent a week at the Cleaderscroft Hotel in St. Agnes in early June of 2010. We found the rooms more than generous in size, with comfortable beds and a sink in the room also. Our private bath was across the hall and supplied with many towels, soaps, shampoos, rinses, body washes, razors, and even bathrobes. A big claw-footed bathtub and a shower gave theses weary hikers a wonderful choice at the end of the day.The other room we used was the 4 poster one with bath in the room. Same comfort, space, and supplies. Located less than a mile from the famous Coastal Path of Cornwall, it was an excellent location for walking activities. A nice beach is just down the road a bit. Also regular buses ran frequently nearby to take one all over Cornwall. We had delicious breakfast foods including fresh fruits of the season, the best ever eggs prepared to order, meats, cereals, yogurts, jams, jellies, homemade rolls and sliced breads. Meals are prepared several nights a week and I can say they were some of the best we have ever eaten. Yummy desserts. The Ellis' were warm, witty, and very accommodating. The front rooms are a little noisy with early traffic if one wishes to have the windows open, so consider that if it bothers you and ask for a room off the street side. It did not bother me. The one-way traffic coming from around the corner bears paying attention to but neither of these factors would ever deter me from the comfort of the house and beauty of the gardens, and all the other pluses. If ever we come from the USA to visit Cornwall again we would consider no other place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottago88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

such a great location and a perfect place to stay - amazing breakfast, superb hosts, big en suite room with comfy bed... all you need

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank che_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Friendly reception. Good breakfast. Large 4 poster bed. "Interesting" collection of items on display everywhere. Quiet. Free parking across the road - beware the road - very dangerous corner with fast one-way traffic.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer009Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

After being let down by the B&B we'd booked (we were informed on the day of arrival that the owner had decided to go on holiday that day), we were compelled to wander round St Agnes looking for somewhere to stay. We walked past the Cleaderscroft and liked the look of it, so we phoned up and flung ourselves on Jeanie's mercy. She runs the place with her husband Ted, and it turned out that this was our lucky day - a cancellation meant that a room with a was available.

We were shown to a very comfortable room with a 4-poster bed. Jeanie brought up a tray with a pot of tea and was all-round welcoming and hospitable. Breakfast was very good and very filling! There's also parking across the road, a bit of a bonus in St Agnes. Cleaderscroft is a soothingly homely place, with a very welcoming atmosphere to it. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markinsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Agnes
0.5 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
0.2 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rosemundy House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Penkerris
Penkerris
#11 of 12 in St Agnes
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleaderscroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleaderscroft

Property: Cleaderscroft
Address: 16 British Road, St Agnes TR5 0TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > St Agnes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St Agnes
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Cleaderscroft St Agnes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing