We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub grub and warm welcome”
Review of The Smugglers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Smugglers Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Seaton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good pub grub and warm welcome”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Visited on an unseasonably cold, wet and windy day. The landlady and landlord were very welcoming, the food was great value, freshly prepared, and in lovely big portions. The beer was well kept too. Very relaxed atmosphere, and I'd suggest it would be perfect for a hungry family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    39
    12
    8
    15
See reviews for
62
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paderborn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

New management are obviously still very new. After a 10 minute wait to be served our drinks we found a table by a table covered in table cloths with the iron still out. It was cold and the menu was small and on A4 paper. We waited 30 minutes for fried frozen chips, oil drenched prawns and scummy powdered soup.
The property's interior reminded me of a 1950's village hall and outside was worse.
The card reader wasn't working, so we had to club together for cash as there was no cash machine for miles.
I can only apologise to my wife, as I took her and the family out for what I though would be a nice meal.
The only plus point was that they offer to make child versions of the limited menu.

Nice place for a casual beer but get your food from somewere that doesn't deep fry everything.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Whilst staying in the local area , my family and I decided to eat at the Smugglers Inn. I was impressed with the service and food. It is a clean, welcoming establishment and I would highly recommend it to anyone with a young family that is looking for a relaxed, friendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

After having a bad experience at the copley arms 2 miles up the road with the landlord and landlady, after being very rude and arrogant, we stumbled upon the smugglers inn, seaton.Didn`t expect too much, but found the pub to have a friendly atmosphere, service was great, great food menu, and the location was fab, right opposite the beach.We didn`t stay here, but had food and a few ciders here !!! what a top place !! especially when the sun is shining. Stayed at the apartments opposite called mount brioni, which i would highly reccommend, but often came over to the smugglers for a bite to eat & drink.Would definatley rate this pub, only downfall is, need to check outside area more, when the doggies do what they do, but there again shouldn`t that be the owners responsibility ! being a dog owner myself, would never leave my dogs mess behind !!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fieldseyStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2009

lovely and very relaxed atmosphere when we called into the smugglers inn, the staff very friendly and smiley ( which is a must in the pub trade) and talkative ,food was very good but only ordered a snack, the outside could of been a bit tidier ,but inside you cant fault it...the toilets were spotless, bar area and food area`s were very clean. and a roaring fire made this trip even more cosier....
I understand from the locals that this pub is now a temporary managed establishment and they are looking for new owners and apparently the managed staff have done alot to this pub in the 6 weeks that they have been there.....will return.....

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtic38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Called in at the Smugglers Inn for a lovely romantic meal. What a joke! After an hour and half of waiting for our food the kitchen staff came out & told us our order hadnt been put through to the kitchen & that the food we had ordered they didnt have. We ordered a combo meal which cost less than our original order. I went and asked the bar man for a little refund and to my delight he refunded the whole lot. I explained to him we had ordered more food. He ushered me away saying not to worry. When we eventually recieved our combo meal, it had been cooked so fast & in so much grease it all tasted the same & oozed grease in our mouths. The bar man came over and said he didnt realise we had ordered again. I told him I had already explained this. The kitchen staff had earlier told us to have our drinks on the house. We were still smiling and never complained once. When leaving I asked the bar man if he would like some money back as we felt bad for the mistakes (they made). He took my money & when I tried to explain I didnt owe him for the whole meal as the kitchen staff said we could have our drinks on the house, he would not accept this no matter how i tried to explain it. I ended up throwing £10 at this elderly man out of sheer frustration! What an absolute idiot! It is my reccommendation that you do not visit this establishment. Especially if you are hungry!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank tellulahuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2008

I stayed at The Smugglers Inn for a couple of nights and found the accomodation to be exceptional. The atmosphere in the bar below was excellent and the breakfast and evening meals were exceptional an excellent stay all round.

  • Liked — The Entertainment and Atmosphere in the Bar
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JRWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaton
3.3 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
606 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
255 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
867 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn on the Shore
The Inn on the Shore
#1 of 1 in Downderry
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smugglers Inn

Property: The Smugglers Inn
Address: Tregunnick Lane | Seaton Park, Seaton PL11 3JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Seaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smugglers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Smugglers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smugglers Hotel Seaton
The Smugglers Inn Seaton, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing