We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveler rating
453
67
12
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
67
12
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachchris edenamuse bouchecourse tasting menumichelin starred chefroseland peninsulasuperb foodthe cliffthree nightssmall hotelsea vieweach eveningcooked to perfectionlovely roomfantastic viewsfeel very welcomenothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 538 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

My wife treated me to the 8 course Vegetarian tasting menu last night and it was delicious. The chef is highly creative and sympathetic to taste and textures and each course brought out the best in the produce. The sour dough bread is to die for, the goat butter a revelation. Our waitress, Sophie from Germany was charming and very knowledgeable as are the bar staff who even served a non alcoholic gin and tonic to my wife, the long suffering designated driver. The decor is fresh yet welcoming all in all a wonderful evening.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank pgc150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you so much, I am delighted you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

We first visited this hotel 11 years ago and found we had been assigned the same room. It was all much the same --- spacious room with sitting area, comfortable superking bed, plenty of cupboard space and a lovely sea view from the dual aspect windows. The bathroom was adequate with a shower over the bath and plenty of toilettries but could do with a lick of paint.My one criticism of the room was the various rugs scattered around which could be a trip hazzard for the more elderly of us!
The dining experience was rather different from our first visit. We have dined in Michelin restaurants in the past and the food at the Driftwood certainly lived up to expectations. However, is it necessary to describe in minute detail every ingredient in every course? Also, when dinner is £65 per head can it be justified to have a £5 supplement on several dishes. We were there for 3 nights and the menu was exactly the same each night. Breakfasts were very good, an excellent selection of cereals, fruits, yogurt and pastries with an interesting assortment of cooked dishes.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming but it would have been nice to have seen the owners at some time during the evenings.

Room Tip: Room 10 has sea views and superking bed but is accessed through the dining room and up a narrow staircase
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGAxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you, it was a pleasure having you back after so long. The essential style of the hotel has not changed much over the years but the decorative side certainly has. We do run seasonal menus, normally a choice of five or six dishes per course and the cost of some shellfish are so high, we do have to occasionally charge a supplement. Fiona and I are around during the day but in the evening, we leave guests to themselves and in the capable hands of our restaurant team. Please do come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

We have been able to visit the restaurant twice this year and each time have enjoyed excellent and unusual food with very attentive service.
However something really needs to be done about the welcome as you feel you are intruding on their evening and if you have not been before it is not too clear where to go.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthia_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you, I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves, could you possibly call me and I can find out more about your welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

This boutique hotel is in an exquisite location with terrific coastal views. We had a standard room which was really nice and comfy. It was excellent. However the main reason that we stayed was for the dining experience. Wow we were not disappointed. The service was brilliant with very attentive helpful staff and the food from the kitchen was something else. Chris Eden is a Michelin star chef and it shows with what the kitchen produced for us. Unlike some other chefs/cooks in Cornwall he is not a one trick pony just cooking fish. The dishes we had were many and varied and the flavours and textures were amazing. It was a real pleasure to eat the in the restaurant. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: A standard sea view room in the hotel is excellent
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

No, thank you, I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Please do come and see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

We spent a delightful two nights relaxing at this small hotel nestling on the cliffs on the Roseland peninsula. The room was very comfortable with a wonderful view over the sea. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. It was a pity we were here in November because the grounds including the private beach would have offered peace and solitude from a hectic life. A further major attraction is the Michlen starred Restaurant!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_David_Taylor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you, please do come and see us in the spring or summer so you can enjoy the gardens and the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews