We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our retreat”
Review of Driftwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driftwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trewithian
Certificate of Excellence
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Our retreat”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Although we live in Cornwall, we retreat to the Driftwood if we seek a short escape with excellent food & a great setting. Driftwood is slightly quirky but that gives it character. The hotel is small, very friendly & sits in a really peaceful location in attractive gardens overlooking the bay. Facing East, it is sheltered from the SW winds. The restaurant deserves its Michelin rating, & the service is always excellent.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andmarCornwall_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    56
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
54
319
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had dinner at The Driftwood last week - the service, food and atmosphere was faultless from start to finish. The staff are very friendly and extremely efficient, the food is excellent and beautifully presented. Yes it's an expensive evening but we knew that before we booked, having looked at the place and its menu online.
Thank you to the staff in the kitchen and the front of house - it was a fantastic evening and we will go again next time we are in Cornwall - highly recommended.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the Driftwood, just had dinner there - but we will one day.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Driftwood is without doubt one of the finest places we have stayed. The friendliness; the ambience; the decor; the location overlooking the sea with a private beach below; the lovely landscaped gardens; easy access to the coastal path; and food to simply die for. It's Michelin starred and it's not hard to see why. We stayed for three nights and the food was sublime each evening. The level of detail was everything you would expect from a Michelin starred chef. Even the bread was simply exquisite. Our room had fabulous coastal views and three nights was not enough. No pretence; no arrogance; no stuffiness - just wonderful service; magnificent setting and mind-blowing food. We WILL return.

Room Tip: Stay in whichever one you choose for as many nights as you can - it's wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Media1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we entered the airy, modern Driftwood, the wow factor was there. Shown straight through to a beautifully decorated, cosy and unpretentious bar area, where others were drinking in the spectacular views, we were presented with delicate canapés to enjoy with the pre dinner drinks. Helpful suggestions from Stuart Opie the restaurant manager, together with prompt friendly service from all staff.... I'm sorry I didn't catch any other names, they really were all lovely... A wonderful selection of breads, a delicate amuse bouche, and soon we were swapping tastes of mackerel and sole... Both treated with the minimum of fuss and presented with perfect balance and maximum flavour. You may be familiar with the feeling of not actually wanting to finish a dish because it just tastes SO GOOD that you don't want it all to be gone? Every course gave that feeling... A real reluctance to admit it had all gone! All too soon, the plates so recently bearing delicate fish with carefully thought-out accompaniments were whisked away.... To be replaced a few minutes later by the most heavenly beef... The feather blade so rich, unctuous and soft it was almost ridiculous!!!... And the hogget lamb... Don't want to say too much and spoil the surprises, but suffice to say it was amazing. Once again we sampled each others' dish and found them both delicious. We had originally considered a rose wine from the interesting and varied list, but Stuart quite correctly guided us away from that on the grounds that it just wouldn't stand up to the beef.... Both meat dishes were perfect with the Isabel that he recommended. Top marks!!! Chris Eden and his team certainly know exactly how to prepare their ingredients, and if the plates could have been discreetly licked then it would have happened!!! Chef sent us the cutest pre- dessert, a real treat for the eyes and taste buds... And finally to the best chocolate dessert I have ever eaten! And I've eaten a few.... But never have I purposely lingered quite so long over every perfect mouthful... Another case of feeling terribly sad that it actually had to end! The cheese selection was pronounced delicious by my companion, who seemed curiously reluctant to share.... All in all a truly memorable evening, all against the background of breathtaking views across a gorgeous Cornish bay. Having eaten several times at Number Six in Padstow, and believing that Paul Ainsworth was beyond comparison, it was wonderful to discover that there is another equally unpretentious and talented Michelin chef in Chris Eden. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AngeCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

An unorgettable birthday celebration in glorious surroundings being looked after by absolutely delightful owners and staff must be one of the most pleasurable experiences in life. This part of Cornwall is topped up with exciting gardens and walking before you have even thought about the beach. Breakfast on the Terrace, a day exploring, returning for lovely evenings with memorable meals ... no need for more. Glorious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaturka34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visited the Driftwood for dinner with friends - they had been before and kept raving about it. Well, I am wholly convinced and it is probably the best meal I have ever had! Food was amazing (well, the chef does have a Michelin star), wines stunning - my friend should take some credit for his choice but then the wine list is fabulous - and service was impressive - professional, knowledgeable and unobtrusive. The location is stunning, overlooking Gerrans Bay and it was a spectacular evening - after a glorious sunny day! The hotel is beautifully furnished, without being grandious - immaculate, contemporary and adds to the whole experience. Treat yourself - yes, it is certainly not a budget dinner but worth every penny and truly memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

It is wholly evident that the hotel has a very strong team of staff behind it that work solidly to deliver impeccable service.

Try as I might, I only identified two points :

1. There was some mould growth along one side of the bathroom window.

2. There was no toilet roll holder. So you had to hold the roll yourself whilst unrolling for use.

Other than that ... Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trewithian
5.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Trewithian
86 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
375 reviews
23.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Property: Driftwood Hotel
Address: Rosevine | Near Portscatho, Trewithian TR2 5EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Trewithian
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trewithian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a stylish, privately run Cornish Beach House Hotel, overlooking the stunning Gerrans Bay, near the pretty village of Portscatho, near St Mawes South Cornwall. Driftwood is like no other boutique hotel in Cornwall. Driftwood has the friendly informal service, a michelin star restaurant, and the efficiency you would expect. Where else can you walk down a wooded path, to your own beach and cove? Where else can you lie back on a steamer chair, with a glass of wine, and enjoy an unbroken sea view. Where else can you eat the best, locally sourced food, perhaps lobster caught that morning, or crab from the bay? Whoever you are or whatever your looking for, whether that be a family holiday, a boutique or romantic hotel in Cornwall, Driftwood is perfect for all your needs. At Driftwood, families can be as well looked after as romantic couples or small groups of grown-ups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Rosevine
Driftwood Hotel Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing