We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Splendid”
other travelers have booked this property
Bathed in sunshine.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bathed in sunshine.
View across open farm land. A little spring sunshine.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Bathed in sunshine.
View across open farm land.
A little spring sunshine.
Cheerful fully equipped kitchen.
Comfy lounge with contemporary fabrics.
Beach finds decorate the staircase.
Cosy bedroom with original art work.
The perfect retreat.
Small but perfectly formed shower room.
You are simply going to love Cornwall.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn L
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Splendid”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a wonderful peaceful retreat, perfect little barn with good amenities, everything you need, including milk in the fridge, hair dryer, iron, towels, tea towels, I could go on......

We saw the owl, leaving and returning to its box on the side of the house most evenings while we were sitting enjoying the late evening sun.

Area well worth the visit, nothing too far from accomadation just a 5 minute drive into Rock and surrounding areas, foot ferry to Padstow from Rock, very convenient for an evening out in padstow without driving all the way around..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: No Wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2016
Great review, thank you! Also good to hear the barn owl is putting in an appearance to delight everyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieB640...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I booked Barn Owl for my husbands 60th birthday as it was in close proximity to St Enodocs golf course which was his present. Everything about it was perfect. Away from the hustle and bustle but still very close to all you need on holiday. Sandy has put together an excellent information pack which we used as recommendations and weren't disappointed. The barn itself it's very cosy and comfortable and beautifully decorated. We hope to return and would recommend it to friends. We even saw the resident owl which was magical.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Hi Julie, We are so thrilled you got to see the Barn Owl and that you both had a fantastic time. Thanks for the feed back on the information pack. It's good to know it was helpful. Please do come back I the near future.
All the best,
Sandy and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage ideally located”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Sandy & Ian have furnished this cottage very thoughtfully which made our stay a very nice one. The location of the cottage is ideally situated with Rock, Polzeath & Port Issac a very short drive away....perfect for a great Cornish holiday. Thanks guys. James & Les

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2016
Thanks guys for your lovely comments. We really appreciate your feedback. So pleased you had a great holiday. All the best, Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay H
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly cosy retreat”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was a lovely, warm place. With a short drive to Port Isaac/Tintagel but very few nearby properties, it was just the right level of secluded.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the review. We hope to see you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunlovind...
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely adorable little cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I have recently had the pleasure of staying for a few days at the barn owl barn.
It is a delightful little cottage which is beautifully decorated in a charming Cornish style.
Everything that you could possibly need for your stay has been thought of.
The location is very quiet and relaxing but just a short drive from some of Cornwall's most beautiful locations such as Rock, Port Isaac, and Padstow. The local pub/restaurant is only a 10-15 minute walk away ( I can recommend the steak).
Sit in the garden at dusk and wait for the barn owl to fly from its nesting box, a wonderful sight. A perfect holiday location for couples to completely relax and chill out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: I enjoyed the whole experience. There was nothing not to like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
It warms my heart to get such great reviews and knowing that you had such a lovely stay is brilliant!!! Thank you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversur...
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect place for a peaceful, quiet, holiday.”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We very much appreciated the cleanness and decor of barn owl barn. The use of the small shed was very handy. The cottage was lovely and warm. Nothing was lacking. The icing on the cake was to creep out at dusk each night and see the owl take to flight from his nest for his evening's hunting. Spectacular !

Congratulations Sandy and Ian for getting everything about Barn Owl Barn right.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet, and no light pollution.
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Really pleased that you both had a fantastic stay and got a sighting of the barn owl. Bookings have been so popular I still have not had chance to stay at the barn myself and witness the owl. We hope you will return in the near future. All the best, Sandy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy W
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully presented cottage in great location”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Barn Owl Barn is a clean and very well equipped property. Significant attention has been paid to detail in this beautifully presented, colour coordinated cottage, with original art work adorning the walls.
The dual aspect windows in the bedroom reveal views of open fields and trees. The bed and pillows are very comfortable with soft, fresh smelling linen and towels provided. There was plenty of hot water in the en-suite shower and even hand soap and toilet paper were provided!
The patio is a lovely place to sit especially when the sun shines and ample exterior lighting is provided for late evening use.
The property is in a great location. It provides a sense of being secluded in the countryside but is very near the beaches of Polzeath and Daymer Bay (within 10 minutes drive) and easy access to the A39. A great spot for National Trust members and those that love visiting gardens. The Lost Gardens of Heligan and Trebah Garden are well worth visiting as are the coastal areas of Boscastle, Port Isaac and St. Ives. If you're willing to travel further afield St. Michael's Mount is super.
The addition of wifi which is planned for next year will be useful however, the hosts left a very comprehensive information pack detailing local attractions.
I would definitely recommend this property and hope to return at a future date.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Presentation and location
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Thanks ever so much for your glowing report. Your comments are really valuable to us and for others planning to visit in the future. I hope we will welcome you back one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing