We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total relaxation & Culinary Excellence :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St Enodoc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The St Enodoc Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total relaxation & Culinary Excellence :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We love this hotel. It is in a stunning position. Overlooking the Camel Estuary across the water from Padstow. The staff are amazingly friendly and efficient. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Restaurant Nathan Outlaw is wonderful. Stephi the restaurant manager greets you with a smile and makes sure your every need is met. Her husband Damon talks you through each accompanying wine with your food. The reception staff are all lovely, Kate is outstanding. The seafood and grill also in the hotel is excellent. They serve breakfast in here and there is a special each morning. We cannot fault the hotel. We have stayed twice and have booked our third visit. If you want to get away from it all and relax in style this is your hotel. We leave our car in the car park and walk the coast or take the boat across to padstow which runs all year. Lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    74
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
225
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
STAFFS
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here at the beginning of August for three nights. What a lovely hotel, set in an amazing location. The staff were very friendly and efficient. I could not fault this hotel in any way. The bed was very comfortable, beautiful linen and spotlessly clean. The same with the bathroom, lots of hot water everything you need they had thought of. Well done to everyone who makes this hotel work. Sorry nearly forgot, we ate breakfast and that was perfect. We also ate in the Nathan Outlaw Bistro type restaurant, again perfect.

Room Tip: We had the basic room, which they call the Garden Room. It was a lovely huge room with a very comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APRICOTStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a short tour of Cornwall, couldn't get into the Nathan Outlaw restaurant as it was a last minute booking so ate in the Hotels A La Carte dining room. lovely meal, great choices and good wine list at a decent price. the room was light and airy and the outdoor heated swimming pool was very warm therefore completely usable. plenty of carparking space at the hotel and friendly staff. would definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Four of us made the trip to Rock from further down the coast. We had pre-dinner drinks watching the sunset before going in and were immediately charmed by our waiter (Daniel). He won us over with his willingness to let us make a starter into a main and to adjust one of the starters (none of the pretentious rules that can put you off before you lift a fork). Restaurant is relaxed, well presented and comfortable - tables could have been but were not rammed together. Crunchy local oysters and lobster risotto were highlights of starters with the cod in rosemary sauce a favourite main. Good sized portions of delicious and well-flavoured food. All of the desserts were given a thumbs-up, with best in show the clotted cream ice cream sandwich. Daniel and the food are worthy of 5 out of 5.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Devongirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good hotel in a great location, fantastic food then again most places in Rock have great food. Fantastic hotel staff very helpful and pleasant at all times. Would suggest that family dining should be from 5.30 to 7pm with the evening menu being available (Nathan Outlaws revenue loss was the local Rock restaurants gain, all of which were very good). Single beds for the kids are very hard which the kids did start to complain after a few days of back ache. Apart from these minor points everything else was very good and of a high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex uk
Level Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The st enodoc , with spectacular views from it's terrace of the estuary , and the distant fields
Is a fine seaside hotel with a first class restaurant , Nathan a la carte and of course his gourmet
Separate restaurant which we didn't try because it was all booked up 3 montages in advance .
After having come here from the gidleigh park where one cannot dine better we didn't mind eating in their brasserie -it was excellent food , more expensive unless you had the set menu
Than you might think it should be , but we enjoyed our lunch and dinner here lobster risotto
Deliciously perfect it brought to mind the one I had at Balthazar in London where this dish had no lobster and was boiling hot ,this was the exact opposite , happily ,cod , John dory all perfectly presented and a pleasure to eat, for dinner ,crispy oysters were enjoyed, the fish was again excellent , very pleasant service.
So great views , good restaurant , friendly staff , very much a seaside simple feel came as a shock after gidleigh park in a way but the contrast grew on us and we were very sad to leave on that very sunny sunday morning .
Our room overlooking the view had no air conditioning so was a bit hot at night but was spotless , a little on the small side , for us but for two nights acceptable

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I recently enjoyed a fabulous 3 night stay at The St Enodoc, and the only problem I found.. was that I didn't stay for far longer! From booking the room on the telephone through to my departure, the staff and service, could not have been better (or more friendly).


The traditional 'manor house' exterior style of the Hotel belies a beautiful contemporary interior : with modern artwork and bright, soft furnishings throughout. I had booked a 'superior double' room on the top floor, and the view across the Camel Estuary was just stunning. Both the room and common parts were pristine - and very well maintained by Housekeeping. There is a cosy lounge area off the Reception (big fire for colder days)and a beautiful, lawned garden area - complete with swimming pool (privately tucked away behind hedges) and a few sun loungers.

I dined at 'Outlaws'for the 3 nights of my stay (the seafood grill at the Hotel) and truly, it was one of the best dining experiences I've had : course after course of stunning food, served by an incredibly friendly team. Even if you are staying at the Hotel, don't assume to be able to get a table here ad hoc however - as it is very popular with non residents. Best to book in advance of your trip or ask first thing in the morning, etc. The acclaimed fine-dining restaurant, 'Nathan Outlaw' (also at the Hotel) is booked up 12-16 weeks in advance - so best to book your stay around their availability, if your intention is a 'foodie' break!

Something to bear in mind for anyone with limited mobility - the Hotel does not have a lift - and there is a fairly steep drive up/down to/from the Hotel,from the road.

Transport wise: if you don't drive, the nearest train station is Bodmin Parkway - and then best to book a taxi in advance of your arrival. It is about 40-50 mins journey and should cost £32-35. Once at the Hotel,the beautiful beach is around 15 mins walk- and from there, you can catch the passenger ferry to Padstow, which takes approx 6-10 mins to cross. Padstow is very popular and busy for day trippers.. so I have to say, after visiting there, the respite and quiet of Rock and The St Enodoc, was very welcome!

I couldn't have hoped for a better, more relaxing stay - and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolf2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock
1.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#3 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
4.5 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
24.5 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St Enodoc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St Enodoc Hotel

Property: The St Enodoc Hotel
Address: Rock PL27 6LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The St Enodoc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic seaside hotel re-invented. That's the ethos behind St. Enodoc Hotel in Rock with its emphasis on comfort, design and great food. Positioned above the Camel estuary with sweeping views across the water, it is the perfect place to relax by the sea. Leave the car and walk the few minutes to surrounding sandy beaches and the foot-ferry to Padstow. With an endless supply of quality produce in the local area, former Masterchef winner James Nathan and his team will be focusing on fresh, healthy, modern European recipes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The St Enodoc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Enodoc Hotel
The St Enodoc Hotel Rock, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing