We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had come here first”
Review of No.1 Rock Road

No.1 Rock Road
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Rock
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we had come here first”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Why oh why didn't we come here first. I was thinking that Rock was all about ripping the tourists off, but this place proved me wrong. At least I didn't need to take a mortgage out for our lunch, which we enjoyed thoroughly I might add. We are looking forward to eating at No. 1's sister restaurant in Polzeath, on recommendation by the cheerful staff that looked after us so well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewKidHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    86
    30
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The kids are still talking about it”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Thank goodness we found this place on our holidays in Cornwall. Unlike other 'eating establishments ' in the area, my wife and kids loved the food, service and most importantly value! We enjoyed the local crab and other seafood dishes very much, the service was attentive and friendly. Next time we come to Cornwall, this will be near the top of the to do/go list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JimSteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely meal. Not much choice in Rock but this was just right. Buzzy atmosphere and helpful staff. Good value

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank legallynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dogs allowed on the terrace only”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having crossed the water from dog friendly Padstow with our dogs we headed to the Rock Bar and Grill for lunch. On arrival we were told we could walk through the bar but had to sit outside as we had dogs. As the rain fell we moved the dogs to sit under the shelter and we sat in-doors. The restaurant staff were rude and asked "do you have to leave your dogs there". There was only us and another family with dogs in the bar, not sure why they couldn't mke an exception as we had ordered the meal before it rained and we had all had to move inside. The attitude of the staff would stop me from ever going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MileeScalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Afternoon cream tea - with a great view”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We treated ourselves to a traditional Cornish cream tea - seated out on the balcony.

A thoroughly pleasant experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephenrgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No.1 Rock Road also viewed

 

Been to No.1 Rock Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing