We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best restaurant experiences we have ever had!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $40
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A small, family run restaurant in Rock, Cornwall
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“One of the best restaurant experiences we have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our party consisted of 4 adults and we were very lucky to get a table at short notice. The exterior is not promising being located at the end of a small shopping parade and having a stained wooden structure but do not be put off because as soon as we entered, the decor was very comfortable and calm. Our meal was absolutely superb with excellent attentive service, way beyond our expectations. Wonderful small hors d'ouevres were provided free as a part of the meal experience. The a la carte menu 5 starters and 4 main courses and when they arrive, they were beautifully presented. The courses look small but are actually just right. Though we would have loved to try the puddings, we were already satisfied so settled for coffee with (free again) petit fours.

One of the joys of the place is that they stagger everyone's arrival so that you are not competing for service along with other parties. The restaurant is alsowell insulated and not large so does not suffer from the noise of larger establishments. All in all, a really great evening at just under £50 per head for 2 courses with wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    21
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been lucky enough to visit the dining room twice and each time we have had an overall brilliant experience. The staff are knowledgable, friendly and helpful. The restaurant does feel like a dining room rather than a restaurant but it still feels a special treat. Every dish we had was beautifully presented and something to savour.
I would highly recommend a visit to this restaurant and above any other restaurant in Rock, at least, and I would go as far as to say in Cornwall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Superb setting with excellent food and attentive service. Amuse bouche and appetiser compensated for the long wait for the starters to arrive. On the pricey side but should be considered a real treat so worth it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracylovatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Dining Room outstanding food experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been to the Dining Room several times now and the food has always been excellent and never fails to exceed expectations. The food as always was once again innovative, very creative and absolutely delicious. I do not hesitate to highly recommend the Dining Room.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine Dining without a doubt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This restaurant was by far the best we experienced on our trip to Cornwall and I would recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat (and I have been since we got home!).

We arrived slightly early for our reservation in the early evening sunshine and were offered a seat outside to look at the menu and the wine list. We were brought some lovely little canapés while we waited and chose a lovely Californian Zinfandel from the Cline wineries which was just spectacular!

After choosing our meals we were invited to sit inside - the restaurant is tastefully decorated in a minimalistic style. It isn't large by any means but gave the impression of an abundance of space meaning we felt like we had our own little bubble all to ourselves. It was great.

The food itself was incredible! We were presented with an amuse bouche which neither of us were expecting, it was a lovely little concoction. I had the lamb dish, my wife had the duck and both were brilliant. Amazing attention to detail in terms of flavour and presentation. The desserts really finished things off well, again spectacular flavours and top class presentation.

The service was fantastic all evening. We never felt rushed, the waitresses were never intrusive but very attentive. Donna who runs front of house was very helpful from the outset and was fantastic all night!

Our compliments to the chef and all the staff at the Dining Room, we would readily go back and hope you receive more recognition for your amazing work in the future!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigmedsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing