We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Ok'ish”
Review of Mariners Rock

Mariners Rock
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Rock
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A public house by Sharp's Brewery and Nathan Outlaw overlooking the Camel Estuary in Rock. We Work closely with our trusted growers and suppliers to deliver a menu of great seasonal pub grub. The Mariners offers a wide range of Sharp's Brewery beers as well as special guest beers featuring through the year, welcoming customers old and new to enjoy local beer and food in a relaxed coastal pub. Outlaw's logoThe Mariners is open from 11am, with food served daily between 12-3pm and 6-9pm. We only take reservations for Sunday lunch, Christmas parties (6 or more) and New years eve. Please just pop in otherwise.
Level Contributor
193 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Food Ok'ish”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We popped in here for a drink and some lunch. We had crab sandwich & chips which was ok. The place could do with a less stark look as it didn't feel at all welcoming when we entered. Staff could do with smiling too! However, overall given its location and basic menu it wasn't ok.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    123
    65
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I visited the Mariners on Thursday lunchtime with a friend. There was no one else in, apart from two bar staff. My friend sat by the window, I went to the loo. When I returned I thought maybe one of the two staff would have offered menus, but no, I had to go up to the bar, disturb their chat and ask for menus. It was if we were invisible, no greeting, no menus, no explanation that we should come to the bar to order. Our sandwiches arrived on small wooden trays, garnished with a few crisps. We soon realised that the crisp packet had been open for some time, they were stale and soft. The sandwiches were lovely though, and the tea refreshing. The place just looked worn and uncared for with squeaky doors and damaged furniture. If this is what appeals to the "hooray Henry's" good luck to them!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseThorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oundle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Drowning in baskets”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I used to love the Mariners' - there is nothing wrong with a bit of hooray-henry once in a while - but recent changes seem to be doing their best to destroy the rah reputation the Mariners' once seemed to cherish - plastic basket meals?!!? Ugh. Where have the pretentious but practical bread board plates gone? Besides making the place look like a Blackpool cafe, I really struggled to cut my food in its basket 'platter' and there was barely room on the table for all the baskets - each item comes in a separate basket. The menu is the same as last year, minus the pizzas, which is a shame, but the field mushroom burgers are still tasty enough. I guess at least the kitchen staff are saving on the washing up....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spondoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely restaurant upstairs with cracking views...lovely steak cooked to perfection followed by a lovely sweet...downstairs they serve the best crab sandwich in the area....relaxed atmosphere ...worth a visit when in the area

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janlomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Went in on Sunday lunchtime. 2 bar lounging on bar, not interested in serving. Young children running about screaming. Has gone downhill over the last year. My advice go further down the road to the Rock Inn.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariners Rock also viewed

 

Been to Mariners Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing