We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - fabulous service”
Review of Outlaw's - CLOSED

Outlaw's
Price range: $39 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the Camel estuary, Outlaw’s at the St. Enodoc Hotel is the perfect place for a memorable meal, showcasing modern British Seafood cookery and locally sourced meat. In fine weather diners are able to enjoy their meal whilst taking in the fantastic view from the terrace.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food - fabulous service”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ate here while staying at the St Enedoc hotel. The ambience is relaxed but stylish, and there is a lovely terrace with views over the estuary. I ordered the Mackerel to start and the hake with broad beans and paprika for my main - both were absolutely beautiful to look at and to eat.
I wouldn't hesitate to enjoy and informal lunch or dinner here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joolooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    74
    44
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Father's Day lunch”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Light and airy room with a warm welcome from staff. The atmosphere was relaxed and casual but the service was spot on. The little fish cakes to start were delicious and our meals were beautifully cooked. My other half dared to say it was "awesome" and as a man usually given to a restrained "it's alright" as a superlative, this was high praise indeed. My lobster risotto was truly delicious with deliciously sweet chunks of lobster in creamy rice which had not completely lost its bite. The cod was cooked perfectly and dressed with tomatoes and capers. Delicious. The chocolate fondant tart got a massive thumbs up. The only complaint we cooked dredge up was the weather! Thanks for. Truly lovely meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PenguinRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Super evening”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ate at Outlaw's à la carte last Thursday. Everything excellent. Food obviously, but the reception, service and pace of the service were first class. The view was also to die for. Not overly expensive either for such a high-class restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We ate at Outlaws, the a la carte restarurant, having been unable to secure a reservation at Restaurant Nathan Outlaw. It was our first visit and we were celebrating our twentieth anniversary. The front of house service was professional, and the dining room pleasingly unpretentious. However the food was a crashing disappointment. Our starters were by far the highlight, with sweet and succulent crispy oysters and a nicely char-grilled squid. My partners' main course of ling lacked oomph, with barely cooked veg (diced carrots) in an insipid sauce. I chose cod and heritage tomotoes. My cod was waterbathed; it arrived barely luke warm and certainly undercooked at the centre. It was almost entirely flavourless. The heritage tomatoes were just that - an unreconstructed plate of sliced (pleasant) tomatoes with a gherkin and caper dressing.
Desserts were also ill-conceived. Pineapple and gingerbread arrived as an admittedly sweet, but unreconstructed pineapple ring, with a grainy/sandy, quite unpleasant ginger crumb. The strawberry sandwich was equally lack-lustre. However the icecream on both desserts was superb. A small pleasure.
Coffee was abysmal; both were cold and my flat white just wasn't a flat white. I had to request an extra shot to temper the extreme latte-like milkiness.
We were very excited to dine here and we were both so upset by our experience. Much is made nationally about sustainable fish - nowhere was there mention of this, or the sourcing of ingredients. Was the cod line caught; was the sea-bass local and wild or farmed? We just couldn't make a decison about our food choices. And now having eaten here I couldn't even say that the fish wasn't farmed.
Outlaws could have done so much better and we would have been delighted ambassadors for our local boy; very sadly this is now not the case.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Botheka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best in the South West”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Tucked away in a lovely little village overlooking the Camel estury, Nathan's Seafood Grill is everything you would expect of a chef of his reputation. The tastebuds are made to dance from the time the very attentive and knowledgeabe staff serve the unexpected canapes to the time that you take your last mouthfull. With a menu to suite all it is an experience not to be missed and well worth the trip. I cannot praise the cuisine and the staff enough and gaurantee that whenever in Cornwall it will be an absolute must and, finally for the more reticent it is excellent value for the surprisingly low cost

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodyman127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outlaw's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing