We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cinnamon toast!!!! Yum!!”
Review of Blue Tomato Cafe

Blue Tomato Cafe
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the bank of the Camel Estuary, with amazing views across the water to Padstow. Child friendly, Dog friendly. Kids and dogs menu's! Extensive range of coffee's, tea's, wines and food. Something for everyone, from tea cakes to lobsters........
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visited the Blue Tomato Cafe twice during our break at Easter. Had to return after loving it so much in 2012.The cinnamon toast is to die for, and Winnie the Labradoodle loved her mackerel munchie. Can't wait to return in October.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 594 of 722 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked several days before for Saturday evening in the restaurant, however on arrival we were seated in the small kiosk/shop on the side of the main restaurant and despite our reservation were told there were no other tables. It almost felt as if we had been parked in a cupboard, if it wasn't a busy Saturday night wkth limited alternatives we would have walked out. The food was however very nice, but in no way made up for the shocking seating arrangements.

Thank greghughes_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetomatocafe, Owner at Blue Tomato Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your review..

I am glad you enjoyed the food.
On the night in question we were fully booked (we only had one table left at the time of your booking, hence being where it was)
I must add, that despite being situated in our 'shop' your table was less than 4 feet from another table, and tucked around the corner from the 'main' cafe area (on the whole, most people have loved the 'privacy' of this table) and we have never had anyone comment on this before.....
Our shop is still part of the cafe only being separated by a small wall. It is in no way a kiosk ( which conjures up an image of a flimsy wooden ice cream shed).

We did offer at the time of your departure for you to return the next day and have coffee and cake with us at no cost to yourselves, alas you did not return.
I am sorry you felt you were placed in a cupboard as this was clearly not our intention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

scallops were simply the best I have ever tasted. This remarkable self styled cafe is one of those places that denand a repeat visit just in case you were dreaming. The food, the service, the wine, the atmosphere......on a chilly spring sunny day this place was a glimpse of how an independant eatery should be run. Top quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephenfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We took the Coastal Path to the town of Rock and then the ferry across to Padstow. The coastal path is a beautiful walk along the shore and provides for some spectacular views of the ocean and estuary. We ate lunch at the Blue Tomato in Rock and found it to be quite good with a varied menu, daily specials on the board and a children's menu. The service was good and the view across the estuary is nice, though the main road runs directly in front of the restaurant so the view is over traffic. Personally, I found Rock and the Blue Tomato to be much nicer than the crowds and packed restaurants across the estuary in Padstow. Rock itself is not much more than some stores and restaurants along a narrow main road, though if you can get a reservation at Nathan Outlaw's 2-star restaurant Rock perhaps takes on more character as a destination.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetomatocafe, Owner at Blue Tomato Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your review

We look forward in seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Found by accident, it didn't look exciting from the outside but was busy so we gave it a go and we weren't disappointed. We only went for morning coffee but the cakes were great and I had some amazing cinnamon toast. The atmosphere was good and the staff really friendly. The menu looked great and we'd have gone back if we'd had time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluetomatocafe, Owner at Blue Tomato Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review


We are in the process of re designing our signage to reflect the atmosphere of the cafe.

We look forward in welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Tomato Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Tomato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing